PDA

View Full Version : Patriot memory not mixing with Corsair problem



XSABERX
12-28-2005, 06:48 AM
Hey there, I'm new to the boards and seeking some help on resolving this issue.
I recently purchased a dual channel kit of Patriot memoryDDR400 512mb x 2 to add to my system that has a Corsair XMS dual channel kit in it already that is also DDR400 512mb x 2. I have the RAM installed properly by the colored coded slots. The problem is when Im playing games It will either crash to the desktop with no error or, give me and error message saying the Program.exe has encounterd a problem and will be shutdown. Ive tried playing around with the timings and swapping out the ram and putting them in different slots but no go. Any suggestions?

Kruz
12-28-2005, 08:05 AM
you didnt say what board you have, but I had a similar problem with my abit AN8. had corsair XMS 2x512 and added Patriot 2x512 to it.. would not work.
the ram I found that works well paired with XMS is the Gskill. I put the gskill ram in it and everything is well again:)

XSABERX
12-28-2005, 11:21 AM
The board I am running on is an Albatron 865PE PRO II, p4 socket 478.