PDA

View Full Version : dual channel vs single?



gibs
01-02-2006, 09:59 AM
I have 512 dual channel ddr ram, (256 x 2).

I also have a single channel 256 RAM. Now my question is, I have the dual channel RAM in the same colored slots, now is the dual channel mode disabled with my single channel ram on the motherboard?

My friends say yes, no dual channel mode, but is this true?

And if so, I have a 512 stick of DDR2 being shipped, will that negate the dual channel mode even though i have the 2 other sticks in the same colored slots.


Please help me, I hope I didn't waste money by not buying 2 more dual channel sticks.



Gibs... :ar15firin

casecutter
01-02-2006, 11:12 AM
what motherboard are you running? As long as you put them in the appropriate slot that would activate dual channel in the motherboard, it will work (the 2X256MB). You need to have matching memory in the channels to activate dual. Putting in 2X256 in one channel and 1X512MB in the other may work, but that really depends on the motherboard. Not many will run with a setup like that.

gibs
01-02-2006, 03:23 PM
ASUS: A8N-SLI

What do you think?

Chaos2003
01-03-2006, 12:12 AM
Unless I'm missing something big, current AMD processors do not support DDR2.

casecutter
01-03-2006, 12:15 AM
Good point, I missed the DDR2. That motherboard will not support DDR2 as well as the CPU will not support it.

If you are lucky, you can try 2 sticks of DDR 2X256 in one channel and you could get 1 stick of 512MB in the other channel to activate Dual Channel mode if it has the EXACT same timings and SPD values. I suggest just getting either another 2X256 kit or wait and get a 2X512MB kit.

gibs
01-04-2006, 04:56 AM
can any of you tell me what the total RAM that motherboard can support? as in can i have 2 gigs of RAM?

wayout44
01-04-2006, 09:33 AM
You'd be better off buying 2 x 1GB sticks and sell your old memory off.

casecutter
01-04-2006, 10:59 AM
Yes, definitely get 2 1GB sticks. Look for OCZ or Corsair. Get Value ram if funds are tight, or get OCZ Platinum 2 X 1GB sticks if you can. They are some of the best on the market.

BURTON88
01-04-2006, 01:12 PM
you can also get patriot ram great value for its speeds and performance