Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with cpu speed

Hi I have a HP Pavilion 8760c
    it's a P3 733 Mhz, and I really need help just to change this number to 800mhz to meet a game requirement. It might be very hard because I'm a computer noob even though I owned this machine for 5 years. My motherboard doesn't have a jumper, and nothing is mentioned about changing any frequency in BIOS so I guess I can't overclock. Is there a way to just to fake the cpu speed so I can install the game?(the game detects and prevents me to start the game) Just 66 mhz off I really don't want to risk changing a cpu for such a old machine. Thanks for any suggestion

Re: Need help with cpu speed

You can't and even if you could overclock, the min. specs on games mean that the game can run, but the game itself would be unplayable.

Comment

save up and by a new computer. you have the computer for 5 years!! i think its time for an upgrade.

Comment

Originally posted by Chaos2003
        You can't and even if you could overclock, the min. specs on games mean that the game can run, but the game itself would be unplayable.
        Usually.

Honestly, that machine is so obsolete that it's just not worth messing with. It really is time to replace it.

Comment

What game...just curious.

But go here... http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/

and Email Abo if your MB is not supported. He is really cool in helping people trying to figure out how to OC. He tried several times with my Dell XPS gen2 with no success, but he did help someone else get some good OCs on a previously unsupported setup.

You should have no problems getting 800 out of a 733 even with stock cooling.

Comment

Yeah I think I should get a new one but I'm just a student with both parent unemployed :( Anyways I could play almost any online game with this machine like WOW, Guildwar, and even HL2 with not much lag. So I believe I can run this game, RYL, with no problem.

Comment

Originally posted by matm347