PDA

View Full Version : a 512 mb AGP CARD!!



jjordan27
02-15-2006, 04:28 AM
Is this what I think it is? And only $174.00. Whats the catch?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814121216


<TABLE id=F0010dlProductModel style="WIDTH: 100%; BORDER-COLLAPSE: collapse" cellSpacing=0 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>How 512 be too much for my board? I have 1 gig of ram but want to upgrade to 2 gigs.

This is my mother board (http://forums.tweaktown.com/#) running in a P4 3.2 gig cpu.


</TD></TR><TR><TD><TABLE class=text_12 id=Table12 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top colSpan=2 height=4></TD></TR><TR vAlign=top height=8><TD vAlign=top width=170 rowSpan=2>http://forums.tweaktown.com/PCCWeb/images/Products/small/p25g_10s.jpg (http://forums.tweaktown.com/PCCWeb/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?CategoryID=1&TypeID=3&DetailID=371)</TD><TD vAlign=top><TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD>P25G (V3.0) (http://forums.tweaktown.com/PCCWeb/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx?CategoryID=1&TypeID=3&DetailID=371)</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=center height=20>Socket 478 and FSB800/DDR400 MB</TD></TR><TR><TD>P25G is one of the most advance and unique modules of PCCHIPS production. It can also support latest Intel Pentium 4 (http://forums.tweaktown.com/#), HT & Prescott processor (http://forums.tweaktown.com/#), up to 800MHz FSB (http://forums.tweaktown.com/#), DDR400, two serial ATA and 8 USB 2.0 ports for features. With embedded UniChromeII 3D Graphics, 64M share memory and one AGP8X slot, all these advance supports, we believe your computer can run with best performance and bring you the great value and enjoyment.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

BURTON88
02-15-2006, 04:30 AM
agp is really old now or is getting there i have it and i cant get any video cards better than the 7800gs for it i have a ati x800xl i wish i could upgrade.

jjordan27
02-15-2006, 05:13 AM
7800 GS and 6800GS are both awsome cards. What do you want to play that these cards dont allow?

casecutter
02-15-2006, 05:50 AM
A6800GS would stomp that 512MB 6800, no problem. And a 7800GS is the king **** of the AGP world. If I ran AGP I would own one of those. Also, don't forget that the 6800GS AGP will most likely unlock to 16 pipes.

Amd_Lover2004
02-15-2006, 06:33 AM
Usualy by looking at the HSF you can tell what will proform better, at least within the same series, that card has a smaller HSF compaired to 6800GS/GT, I really doubt 512MB on a 6800 would make a big diffrence. Even with the 7800GTX 512(Ultra) the diffrence in proformance is mostly in the clock speed diffrences between the 7800GTX and GTX 512(Ultra), With current games anyway.

jjordan27
02-15-2006, 10:47 PM
Do you think they will make a 6800 GS or 7800 GS with 512mb ram?

casecutter
02-16-2006, 12:16 AM
Highly doubtful. That much VRAM is virtually unused anyways. Besides, the memory on the 6800/7800GS cards is much faster than the 512MB memory on that 6800. I am unsure as to how fast the ram on the 512MB GTX is, but the insane core speeds could certainly overcome slower memory.

Yawgm0th
02-16-2006, 09:56 AM
Only a few games get much advantage from 512MB video RAM, and even though only the top-of-the-line cards can really get any actual performance advantage (and it's not much). F.E.A.R. and Doom 3 can actually see improved loading times from it, as well as fewer initial stutters from loading textures and whatnot, but performance (as I said) isn't increased much. Take the 512MB 7800 GTX and clock it down to 256MB GTX speeds and performance is almost identical.

DigitalDD
02-16-2006, 08:56 PM
note it may be a 512mb video card with a geforce 6800 chipset but the memory is clocked kinda slow [540mhz GDDR2]. you might be better off witha Sapphire radeon 1600pro AGP if you really need a 512MB AGP card.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814102680

its a few bucks chepaer than the 6800 you posted the link to as well..

Wraith556
02-17-2006, 05:28 AM
The only problem I can see is having to use a 512mb AGP appeture in RAM.

PrairieDawg
02-17-2006, 09:13 AM
Why would you want a 512 aperture??

Amd_Lover2004
02-17-2006, 11:11 AM
The only problem I can see is having to use a 512mb AGP appeture in RAM. You dont have to use 512 appature, you could use a 64MB appature, it does not really matter. I dont know where you got the idea that you have to use an appature equal to your video memory, actualy you should require less if you have more video memory, I have never used more than 128. And appature size makes little to no diffrence anyway, at least in games.

I dont even recall seeing the option in my DFI bios.....

casecutter
02-17-2006, 11:27 AM
That is no longer put in bios, at least in DFI's. It really didn't do much and was useful back in the P3 days when video cards were 4/8/16MB.

DigitalDD
03-13-2006, 10:32 PM
yeah is that why on some rigs when you put two SLI video cards in your rig you can lose system memory. I've seen a few systems with 2 256Mb PCIe cards and 2-4GB of RAM reported as 1.5GB or 3.5GB.

Could that be a 32bit vs 64bit OS bug or is it videomemory? I think the former but you never know for sure sometimes.

bf2nut
03-19-2006, 04:15 PM
7800 GS and 6800GS are both awsome cards. What do you want to play that these cards dont allow?try running bf2 1280x768 or higher with settings to hi with either of them not dying..go pci-ex,its been time man..

Yawgm0th
03-20-2006, 09:18 AM
try running bf2 1280x768 or higher with settings to hi with either of them not dying..go pci-ex,its been time man..
Both will handle BF2 at higher resolutions as long as you have enough RAM. BF2 mostly just needs a lot (2GBs) of RAM to run at highest settings. With 1GB and a 6800GT I can run everything at highest except I have to have either textures or lighting at Medium. With my 9800 Pro I would have to have both at Medium. See my point?

bf2nut
03-21-2006, 11:14 AM
see your point?lmao i had both of them cards 9800 1024x768=all med,stuuter hard under firefights(pfft),6800gt 1024x768=med,same thing would stuuter under firefight(jet explosion,tank,c4 etc..)6800ultra ran 1600x1200 med very nicely but not good at 1800x1440 :p,7800gt ran amzing at 1800x1440 very lil stutter during firefight if,7900gtx well forget about this thing is begging for me to go 27 in crt flat(lcds are not deep enough feeling for me..)and btw...see your point,yes i had those 2 cards plus 2 more since til now playing bf2 with 2 gigs of ram(4x512 corsair..sold) during the9800pro,6800gt,ultra runs.then bought 4 gigs ocz platium 3200 at 1:1 cas 2-3-2-5 for my 7800gt,7900gtx times now...the differnce is breathtaking.all depends for guys who like "heh looks good" at 1280x768 or holy!!!!1800x1440 settings maxed to death type gaming =0.....see my point?lmao,ask yourself,why would someone like me spend the loot buy,use,see and sold 4 cards to get bf2 to absloute the best it can get at 1800x1440(sli soon :p)well the answer is to get how it looks on my pc now....would blow your mind.thats what im saying..heh frag out.:ar15firin



comp specs-----shortened, relevant version
amd 64 3700(san diego) swiftech helicoil hetsink
dfi ultra d sli mobo
4 gigs ocz platium 3200 at 1:1 cas 2-3-2-7(t2)
(2) 36 gig western digital 10k raptors in raid 0
xfi extremusic
bfg 7900gtx512

Yawgm0th
03-22-2006, 04:44 AM
see your point?lmao i had both of them cards 9800 1024x768=all med,stuuter hard under firefights(pfft),6800gt 1024x768=med,same thing would stuuter under firefight(jet explosion,tank,c4 etc..)6800ultra ran 1600x1200 med very nicely but not good at 1800x1440 :p
When I say run, I mean with respectable framerates and no or almost no stuttering. Sounds like something was being done very wrong if you couldn't run the 6800GT at 1024x768 without stuttering but the 6800U handled it at 1600x1200 just fine. The difference between those to cards is pretty insignificant, especially in that game. I'd certainly say you were doing wrong based on the abysmal performance both your 9800 Pro and 6800GT got compared to mine. I was running 768MB of RAM and a 2.2GHz Barton with both cards (though I now run a 2.5GHz Athlon 64 with 1GB of RAM with the 6800GT).

And BTW, I'm getting kind of sick of editing your rig out of your posts. It makes the post huge and it's kind of unecessary to have it in every thread. Make a signature with the rig in it for youself but make it list components horizontally.

bf2nut
03-22-2006, 07:51 AM
When I say run, I mean with respectable framerates and no or almost no stuttering. Sounds like something was being done very wrong if you couldn't run the 6800GT at 1024x768 without stuttering but the 6800U handled it at 1600x1200 just fine. The difference between those to cards is pretty insignificant, especially in that game. I'd certainly say you were doing wrong based on the abysmal performance both your 9800 Pro and 6800GT got compared to mine. I was running 768MB of RAM and a 2.2GHz Barton with both cards (though I now run a 2.5GHz Athlon 64 with 1GB of RAM with the 6800GT).

And BTW, I'm getting kind of sick of editing your rig out of your posts. It makes the post huge and it's kind of unecessary to have it in every thread. Make a signature with the rig in it for youself but make it list components horizontally.
my sig is made and dont start acting like a hater plz.your sik of looking at my specs?lol whys that?hmm don,t answer plz,im here to help not fight with ppl.

dbomb
04-27-2006, 03:41 AM
can somebody please help me? im trying to find a good oc for this Asus 5950ultra 256mb.

dbomb
04-27-2006, 03:50 AM
please?

Yawgm0th
04-27-2006, 09:04 AM
Start your own thread. This thread has nothing to do with what you're looking for.

Eaglee
05-07-2006, 01:28 AM
Both will handle BF2 at higher resolutions as long as you have enough RAM. BF2 mostly just needs a lot (2GBs) of RAM to run at highest settings. With 1GB and a 6800GT I can run everything at highest except I have to have either textures or lighting at Medium. With my 9800 Pro I would have to have both at Medium. See my point?
BF2 is a rather old game, can you run Oblivion @ 1280X1024 with all options maxxed out with 4X AA and AF? Or FEAR?

Yawgm0th
05-07-2006, 12:06 PM
Yes and yes, but I don't have a 6800GT anymore. Furthermore, it's an irrelevent comparison since I was claiming to run BF2 with some settings at Medium. It's also very rare to see Oblivion run with maxed options and 4xAA because HDR and AA cannot run at the same time except with newer ATI drivers on high-end cards, and I have an nVidia card anyway.

Regardless, I was responding to a post regarding BF2. I don't think I had yet played Oblivion at the time of posting, and it wouldn't have been relevent if I had.

maximus7001
05-12-2006, 03:00 PM
I guess I am the first to notice that it is 128 bit.