PDA

View Full Version : ASUS A7V333 Sound Confusion



ali
04-27-2002, 06:17 AM
It says that the motherboard has 6 channel sound. where as there is only a single sound output to support 2 channels.

i am assuming that you will need a spdif module to go with it. will iwill's spdif module works with this one because i couldn't find anything like that by asus. is that what you have to do ?

thanks for the help
ali

:afro:

Wiggo
04-27-2002, 09:53 AM
Contact Asus as they have an optional SPDIF bracket for this and the Iwill's pinout is probably different to the Asus product. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Andy
04-27-2002, 03:33 PM
you can get your 6 channel sound just using the 3 onboard ports, i suggest you have a look at pages 27(#13) and 42(#24) in the manual, that will help you get 4 channels, but looking through the manual quickly, i didn't see how to get the other 2 channels

hotrod
05-12-2002, 08:04 AM
4 channel surround sound:
lime, out front speaker
blue, out rear speaker (line in)
mic, is mic

5.1:
lime is front
blue is rear
pink is center, subwoofer

Hope this helps... I just got mine going..using 4 channel workin and sounds great.
( haven't used 5.1)

hotrod
05-12-2002, 08:09 AM
I forgot to mention..to change from 2, 4, or 5.1 channel, you use C-media mixer, got to advanced, (lower left) then speakers.. Make your changes there...

ali
05-13-2002, 02:58 AM
does that mean, if you use 4/6 channel sound, you cant use line-in or mic for recording ?

:afro:

hotrod
05-13-2002, 08:54 AM
I haven't used 6 channel..yet... But in 4 channel you can... I see in my my manual that there is a jumper for 6 channel. that says bass/center, center/bass.. I takeing that as meaning that you can change bass or center to right or left channel, but I have not tried it.. So it looks like the mic won't work on 6 channel, but does on 4 channel... I'm workin 15 hour days, 2 more days till my days off.... then I'll give a few things a try, and know more.. But on 4 channel, my computer and speaker setup, has never sounded so good.....

hotrod
05-13-2002, 08:56 AM
yep no line in on 4 channel...... ggeeesss pro's and cons...