PDA

View Full Version : Dual CPU Programs????



FiReBLaZR
05-01-2002, 09:31 AM
Just a quick question....is Adobe Premier 6.0 Dual Processor Ready...like for a dual AMD MP system???...thanks...lataz

FiReBLaZR

Beefy
05-01-2002, 09:50 AM
Premiere 6 doesn't officially support the use of dual processors, though I think that you'd still get some performance gain out of using two....

Mr. C
05-01-2002, 09:55 AM
If it isn't supported, there would be no gain would there:?:
Except any other program you would run concurrently would gain as it could run on the other CPU.

Beefy
05-01-2002, 10:05 AM
I thought the OS / MB helped out by sharing the load across two CPUs? :?:

Mr. C
05-01-2002, 10:46 AM
They do play an integral part, provided the program is coded for it.
The big downfall of running a dualie setup is that few programs are coded to take advantage of it:(

The vast majority of programs can't take any advantage whatsoever, as the program will be entirely run through a single processor. But a proper Dual CPU OS can take advantage of non-multiple CPU coded programs by running concurrently running programs on different CPU's, thereby providing better multitasking.

Kind of a drag isn't it? All that processing power going to waste because the programs don't know how to take advantage of it.

Someday they will get computers to work right, but I probably won't understand any of it:laugh:

Beefy
05-01-2002, 11:11 AM
... fair enough then. That takes all the fun out of dual processor PC's then...

Mr. C
05-01-2002, 11:20 AM
At this point in time there is little reason for the average user to spend the extra $'s for a dual-CPU system.

I think that PSP is coded for dual processors, but that definitely makes it part of a very short list.

LOL but at times wouldn't it be nice if you could run Windows on one processor and let the other handle the light work:D Sorry, that was an unfair and wholly deserved dig at XP

zeradul
05-07-2002, 03:46 AM
I was under the assumption that XP is the first OS to be able to handle dual processors for whatever the system is doing... I know previous OS's were such so that programs needed specific code to work, but I thought I read that XP took control and became the iterpreter (for lack of a better word) and worked between dual cpu's and whatever task at hand.

Mr. C
05-07-2002, 09:14 AM
Windows XP Proffessional is indeed an OS that is designed to function on a dual-CPU system.
What you say is in essence true. However I don't think that it has the ability to delegate a program to run on more than one CPU unless the program has the specific capability of being divided in such a manner.
It can certainly share the load among the two processors by delegating which CPU will handle an assigned task thereby providing a marked increase in the level of performance of the overall system. As in CPU #1 could run Media Player while CPU #2 would get the task of running Office 2000.

zeradul
05-08-2002, 01:39 AM
Ok, thank you for the clarification. Does anyone know if Premier supports dual cpus?

And Mr. C do you have a link to an article from some where credible that discusses that? I would like to read more...

RDR
05-11-2002, 01:38 AM
About 40% of the CAD/CAM application we run at work are multi-threaded.
To find out if it's worth setting up dual CPU's I usually just make a call to the support line.....