PDA

View Full Version : Connection Testing (DSLreports.com)



Mr.Tweak
05-03-2002, 11:28 AM
OK guys, here is the situation. I just got ADSL 1500 / 256 installed and want to show it off a little but more so compare it to other boardband users, any users.

Obviously the tests at DSLreports won't be 100% accurate considering it's based in the US but let's give it a go anyway.

Go to this URL: http://www.dslreports.com/stest?loc=2 and run the test. The post a picture of your results, here's mine:

http://images.tweaktown.com/cameron/dslspeed01.gif

:)

Wiggo
05-03-2002, 11:52 AM
Well here's mine though why the upload is down on speed may have something to do with the firewall but then it maybe something else. :?:

Wiggo
05-03-2002, 11:53 AM
Ok so why isn't that workin' I wonder. :?:

Mr.Tweak
05-03-2002, 11:54 AM
Having a few problems there, can you upload somewhere else for now?

Beefy
05-03-2002, 11:56 AM
This was done while 7 other staff were using the Internet, plus there was a video conference happening (connected at 384Kbps.. so it was hogging a fair bit of bandwidth)...

Doh.. upload prob...

Anyways, my download was 969kbps... upload was 744kbps... Will do a proper one when I can.. :)

Wiggo
05-03-2002, 12:05 PM
Ok let's try this then.
[EDIT] Killed due to upload now workin' :D
I thought Kay was playin' a game but she was goin' hard on the internet with the other pc at the time. :smokin:

Mr.Tweak
05-03-2002, 12:08 PM
There you go. :)

Mr.Tweak
05-03-2002, 12:09 PM
Test

Mr.Tweak
05-03-2002, 12:12 PM
OK forum attachments seem to be working now guys, I never thought it would have been that easy.

Basically files are no longer being added to the database but there only folder on the server.

Mr.Tweak
05-03-2002, 12:13 PM
Test 2, to see if it wasn't a fluke! :)

Beefy
05-03-2002, 12:13 PM
my results

Albinus
05-03-2002, 12:16 PM
OK forum attachments seem to be working now guys, I never thought it would have been that easy.

Basically files are no longer being added to the database but there only folder on the server.


Yes, amazing what a little "tmp" does to things :laugh: ;)

Mr.Tweak
05-03-2002, 12:19 PM
Yes, amazing what a little "tmp" does to things :laugh: ;)

Yes, the smallest things... :)

Albinus
05-03-2002, 12:21 PM
OK - time for me to :cry:

Will have to throttle the TAFE's T1 line next time I'm there ;)

Andy
05-03-2002, 04:05 PM
WOOHOO
I GOT "MORE LENGTH" (http://forums.tweaktown.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2358) THAN WIGGO :D

Birdkiller
05-03-2002, 06:31 PM
WOW interesting result.

hhmmm i tried a second time and got 35k down and 201k up

Wiggo
05-03-2002, 07:59 PM
Now that is a very strange result Birdkiller. :?:
Oh and Andy its not how BIG it is but how ya use it. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Andy
05-03-2002, 08:38 PM
lol :p

Mr.Tweak
05-05-2002, 09:38 AM
BUMP

Everyone else post their results! :)

Mr. C
05-05-2002, 12:25 PM
This should make everyone feel better:)
Well, everyone but me:cry:
Note: screenshot heavily cropped due to obvious upload limitations:laugh:

Wiggo
05-05-2002, 12:32 PM
One day Mr.C the power will be in your hands. : peace2:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

Mr. C
05-05-2002, 12:39 PM
I patiently await the fulfillment of your phrophecy:D

Folks I work with are getting cable access - but so far none of them has a spare room for me.
I don't mind not being able to have a pizza delivered where I live but it would be nice to get a picture of one in 30 minutes or less:laugh:

Beefy
05-05-2002, 07:46 PM
here's something to make Mr C feel a little better.. this was on my 56k modem:

Mr. C
05-06-2002, 04:46 AM
That's some real nice cropping there Beefy:thumb:

Olie
05-07-2002, 08:06 PM
lol
i whooped y'all
a whole 8k

Olie
05-07-2002, 08:09 PM
real one


:p
still crap

Albinus
05-07-2002, 09:41 PM
This is the TAFE's T1 line with 3 of us madly leeching off it today :D

Wiggo
05-07-2002, 10:17 PM
I'm goin' to have to try this next time with the firewall off as that upload speed can't be right by a long shot. :confused:

Albinus
05-26-2002, 06:05 PM
I'm goin' to have to try this next time with the firewall off as that upload speed can't be right by a long shot. :confused:


Wiggo, cable modems are asymmetric devices, you are very lucky to get over 128Kbps on OptusNet Cable. To get higher upload speeds you either need something like a T1 or T3 , or ISDN line (same bandwidth in both directions), or SDSL (Symmetric Digital Subscriber Line). :)

Wiggo
05-26-2002, 08:06 PM
Is 120Kbps too much to ask for? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

FLaCo
05-27-2002, 10:59 AM
Hope its not too BIG! what do you guys use to make your reports so small?

Olie
05-30-2002, 03:14 PM
beacuse if you look at the results, lots of us have DIALUP which is **** slow

Wiggo
05-30-2002, 03:20 PM
Flaco[/size]]
Hope its not too BIG! what do you guys use to make your reports so small?
We crop the excess out so just what is needed is dislayed. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Andy
05-30-2002, 03:22 PM
beacuse if you look at the results, lots of us have DIALUP which is **** slow

i think he means the size of the pic :p

i use photoshop, but you can do it in paint, but i'm too lazy to do another little tutorial atm

anywho, i got a bit more on the DL than wiggo did :D

Andy
05-30-2002, 03:24 PM
and i just did another test just then :D
look at the upload :D

Wiggo
05-30-2002, 03:34 PM
Well I'm not worried but here's the one I just did with 3 of the PC's here active on it. ;)

JealousMidget
05-31-2002, 10:38 AM
I was a little disappointed at my results with an ADSL line, but as long as Mr. C is still using the Pony Express, I guess I shouldn't complain. :laugh:

JM

ReSpAwN DeMoN
06-01-2002, 06:43 AM
I've seen better....but there are 6 computer in my house that are all hooked up to my DSL line so I guess that could have a fault there


http://members.fortunecity.com/respawndemon/dslspeed.JPG

SCS
06-01-2002, 07:33 AM
I don't know if the Telstra servers are stuffing up or whatnot, so I can't really say it's accurate, but it sounds like it :D
Definitly going to upgrade ;O Look at all the pwetty colours!
:knife:

Albinus
06-01-2002, 07:19 PM
I don't know if the Telstra servers are stuffing up or whatnot, so I can't really say it's accurate, but it sounds like it :D
Definitly going to upgrade ;O Look at all the pwetty colours!
:knife:


Is that a 512Kbps ADSL connection? If so that's excellent for a country town :)

Birdkiller
06-02-2002, 07:08 PM
My country town ADSL:

Jebus
06-09-2002, 07:14 AM
how the hell are you giez getting these speeds i got dsl and m speed is 650down adn 136 up tell me how to tweka my connection. i have already done that a little such as mtue but i still cant find a way to get it .:angryfire

Mr. C
06-09-2002, 08:08 AM
There are lots of tweaks to try - do a google search and see what strikes your fancy.

In the event that you have done all you can__this should make you feel better:cry:

Grim Reaper
06-09-2002, 08:53 AM
MWHAHHAHAAHAHHAHH!!!! i say goodbye to Dial-Up and helllllllooooooooo to ADSL!! :DD:D:D:D

/me = fuggin stoked!



hrmm, my dslreport is a lil low today...was up around 430 yesterday...ohhh well, still whomps dialup :D:D

Jebus
06-09-2002, 09:39 AM
i did google searches so many times i have done a lot i need osme suggestions of what you giez did to tweak your dsl please!!! thanks:crazy:

Wiggo
06-09-2002, 10:08 AM
Good to see that ya come out from the darkside there Grim. :thumb:
Jebus go to http://cable-dsl.home.att.net/ and http://www.dslreports.com/ to see what tweaks you can use. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Grim Reaper
06-09-2002, 10:09 AM
Jebus,

The majority of replies to this thread are posts by those dreaded cablers that make our DSL connections look shabby...they have uncapped download speeds, that is why their speeds are up so high

and depending on what adsl plan your on eg:

512/128 plan is actually 512kiloBITS/128kiloBYTES would equal 64kiloBYTESdown and 16kiloBYTES up, now you have to add a few lost packets etc that do happen so your talking about 90% of that, so if you average around 50 to 55kiloBYTEs per second for the 512/128 plan then your goin good :)

Wiggo
06-09-2002, 10:23 AM
Grim[/size]]
The majority of replies to this thread are posts by those dreaded cablers that make our DSL connections look shabby.
Is it my fault that I get cable here cheaper than DSL? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Grim Reaper
06-09-2002, 10:28 AM
LOL, bah!

Optus, get yo arse here and cable my area dammit! even if you are introducing caps!! until then, ill suck all i can get out of this DSL connection :D

dirtydog
07-07-2002, 04:31 AM
Ok here's mine :thumb: My advertised speed is 2048/384.

Corduroy
07-08-2002, 12:44 PM
Here are my results. This is a pretty average DSL speed here in the states. My advertised speed is 512 down and 128 up. Thanks for the extra upload speed (sarcasm).

What are ya'll down under paying for your Broadband in American Dollars? We pay $35 a month here. Is it more or a lot less there?

Wiggo
07-08-2002, 12:52 PM
I'm paying $64aus p/m for cable which atm works out about the same as you. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Wiggo's-sister
07-08-2002, 03:37 PM
Don't worry Mr C, mine isn't much better.
Download 34 kbps, upload 25 kbps. :(

Andy
07-10-2002, 12:20 AM
i just thought i would do some ego-boosting arse-whooping :D

this was done at 1:58 AM :

<img src="http://members.optushome.com.au/andy_lee01/erm...-first-test.jpg">

this one was done at 2:00 AM :

<img src="http://members.optushome.com.au/andy_lee01/second-test.jpg">

so eat some of that :p

zeradul
07-10-2002, 04:52 AM
The best I did at College was 1.3 MB/sec, so roughly 15 MegaBit. Of course that was in the wee hours of the morning... 4-5 AM

Just on rural dialup at the moment, a consistant 42 Kbps.

FA-MAS
07-12-2002, 12:42 PM
Here's mine, not bad considering that I'm capped at 384/128.

http://home.earthlink.net/~darrelhu/dslspeed.jpg

tesna
08-09-2002, 01:26 AM
I'm on telstra bigpond cable....
2002-08-08 13:08:45 EST: 523 / 38
Your download speed : 523447 bps, or 523 kbps.
A 63.8 KB/sec transfer rate.
Your upload speed : 38498 bps, or 38 kbps.

The test was taken 3 AM and I only get that speed for my uncapped cable modem? Is this normal for telstra bigpond cable?