Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any fearless individual here ever tried SuSE?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any fearless individual here ever tried SuSE?

What's up with SuSE?
    I understand each distro is unique in some way unto itself.
    So can anyone tell me what the Rosetta Stone is here?
    I'm using SuSE 7.3 Personal. I have installed everything up to and including source codes. Because I'm new at this and not knowing what I may need, and having the drive space available, when the installer asked I said yes.

To date I have failed utterly at installing any driver for any hardware that was not included in the distribution.
    Apparently something about Linux has made me completely unable to follow clear and concise directions printed in plain English?
    All I can do is get numerous errors, failures to parse, and all the other lingo which specifically implies to the user that "that ain't gonna' happen".
    I can install software from third party sources (OK, admittedly that isn't what you would call smooth, but I get it done - with the exception of the Java escapade which was related in an earlier whinge)
    But drivers just foil me at every attempt?

It is becoming rather agravating to go from being competent (and in the circles I run in IRL actually being considered fluent) with the Windows OS, to being a complete blithering fool in Linux.
    Now I realize fully that I am not going to become a Guru in a few weeks. What I need here is some guidance to make some small breakthrough here and hopefully to get the little 2 1/2 Watt bulb inside my pea-brain to glow a little bit.

I'm not knocking SuSE, but maybe I just need a flavor that has a bit better documentation? Maybe BSD is more for me?
    Heck, I don't know, I'm freaking lost here!
    The reason a diamond shines so brightly is because it has many facets which reflect light.