PDA

View Full Version : Setting DMA Mode on IDE Drives



MrSHADOW
05-10-2002, 09:46 AM
I am running through the Tweak Guide for Windows XP on Tweaktown, and on Windows XP Tweaking Part Two - Page 3
it lists a method of setting the DMA mode for the drives. I don't have an advanced TAB in which to set my DMA mode and was wondering if anyone knows how I can get one to display or why mine isn't displaying presently.

Cheers,

Ben.

tomt
05-15-2002, 09:36 AM
MrShadow, Here is a site that might help, i had two sites but lost the first one, if i find it i will send it to you , Tom http://www.thegline.com/win2k/issues/2002/2.html

MrSHADOW
05-15-2002, 02:34 PM
Thanks a bunch Tom, I bet that is the problem, I did install IAA2 with my other drivers immediately after installation of windows.

Now the question of how bad do I want DMA on my roms, because I was having periods of 100% CPU utilization when copying from hard drive to hard drive. After installing IAA2 the CPU load dropped to 35% max.

Thankyou again for your help.

Cheers,

Ben.

tomt
05-15-2002, 06:33 PM
MrShadow: Your Welcome, glad you got something out of it, Tom