PDA

View Full Version : simple question



Brandon_kw
05-16-2002, 07:51 AM
to hook up a cable rj-45 line to a computer, you will need a v.90 modem, right?

Beefy
05-16-2002, 07:58 AM
moving thread to Networking....

Mr.Tweak
05-16-2002, 09:02 AM
The last time I checked RJ-45 stood for CAT5, so you'll need a NIC (Network Interface Card).

Beefy
05-16-2002, 09:34 AM
But what happens with a cable connection? Assuming that's what you are talking about.. don't you need a cable modem or something?

Wiggo
05-16-2002, 10:42 AM
Yes you would most certainly need a cable modem for a cable connection but, maybe he just means to make a network connection between 2 PC's and then only requires the network cards. :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Beefy
05-16-2002, 10:47 AM
maybe when he comes back he can fill us in some more...

Albinus
05-17-2002, 08:11 PM
Err... I have a CAT5E cable for my modem, it just has an RJ12 jack and only one pair of wires terminated out of it :p

Back to the topic at hand...

A v.90 modem will connect to the phone line by using an RJ12 jack. A cable and/or ADSL modem will most likely use an RJ45 jack. But as the others have said, what exactly are you trying to do with the cable with an RJ45 jack on the end? :?: