PDA

View Full Version : new system, can't install windows with internal cache enable



elnino
05-21-2002, 05:53 AM
I've just build me a new system, after a few problems, i found out that i was only able to install windows with the cpu internal cache disabled. It works fine then but slow. When i enable the internal cache, windows can't start up and after a reboot it goes into safe mode.
So i suppose there is something wrong with the cpu or can it be something in the bios settings, because i don't know about Dram burst lenght, queue depth, command rate. So i used the default settings for this
can anyone help ?

I can give additional info, but just don't know what

PlasmaBurn
05-21-2002, 11:31 PM
Pull off your heat sink and check the CPU, it may have crushed the core/cache. Actually, no, never mind - because if the cache enabling causes it to crash, it's dead.

I may be wrong, though, but that's what's happened to me before - i killed my internal cache after coming home from a LAN and finding one of the lugs snapped and the cpu hs/hsf on the case floor >_<

Hope someone else can offer advice, but i've said my opinion.

Albinus
05-23-2002, 02:18 PM
I have only experienced this problem with L2 cache, the L2 cache chip was scorched and when it was enabled it crashed the computer (VIA MVP3 based board - cache on the board not the CPU).

So I feel it is a problem with the CPU - is it under warranty? Lack of L1 cache is nasty, makes a 1GHz Duron run like a 266MHz Celeron :hammer:

elnino
05-24-2002, 11:01 PM
Thanks for the replies, but after reinstalling the processor and heatsink three times, it suddenly worked fine. Also the temp dropped from 70 idle 95 !! load and -55 :confused: case to 45 idle 50 load and 25 case
So i guess the temp sensors gave wrong readings to (or the cpu would already be fried:laugh:

Morgan_Lander
05-26-2002, 04:44 PM
Could be you mounted something wrong.:?: