PDA

View Full Version : New to Intel



Bopster
12-09-2007, 11:30 PM
Hello all, my first post.
A couple questions if I may.
1. How come in bios 7 I have Hyperthreading in Advanced Features but not in bios 8 or 9? Has it been disabled in the 2 latest releases, and does it matter?

2.How can I stop my CPU from slowing down when no apps are running and keep it clocked at high speeds all the time? It idles back to 2.0 all the time, then with Cpuz and an app running it bounces back and forth between 2.0 and 3.0

3.After OCing AMD,s all these years I have to say I am baffled as to OC settings for Intel. Does anyone have some basic OC settings I could try and start bumping up from there?

Many thanks

Oh I am running XP SP2, all updates

jriker1
12-10-2007, 12:27 AM
1. How come in bios 7 I have Hyperthreading in Advanced Features but not in bios 8 or 9? Has it been disabled in the 2 latest releases, and does it matter?

Hyperthreading is an old technology that the newer Core2 Duo/Quad's do not use. It was in there in F7, however was disabled. Enabling it doesn't do anything which you can tell by looking at Windows Task manager and looking at how many CPU utilization boxes are there.


2.How can I stop my CPU from slowing down when no apps are running and keep it clocked at high speeds all the time? It idles back to 2.0 all the time, then with Cpuz and an app running it bounces back and forth between 2.0 and 3.0

First thing you have to ask is why would you want it running full throttle all the time. Those power saving features usually cut back on your home power usage quite a bite. Even overclockers turn some of them back on (if they can) after they get a stable overclock so it's not running max all the time. In answer to your question though, here is what I disable before overclocking to assure it doesn't throttle back:

- CPU Halt (C16)
- CPU Therm Mon (TM2)
- CPU Eist
- Virtualization
- CIA2



3.After OCing AMD,s all these years I have to say I am baffled as to OC settings for Intel. Does anyone have some basic OC settings I could try and start bumping up from there?

I run a Q6600 so my settings wouldn't be relevant. I would suggest looking around the overclock.net forums. They are excellent.

Bopster
12-10-2007, 05:34 AM
Thank you for the info sir.

Now that you made a good point about power usage.
What would I turn back on to enable just that function out of the things you suggested I turn off?
- CPU Halt (C16)
- CPU Therm Mon (TM2)
- CPU Eist
- Virtualization
- CIA2


Also I dont see a 1:1 multiplier for the memory. I have mine @ 2.4 to get 3.6 with memory at 1000 (500x2)

Thanks again, you helped get me on the right path.:sun_smile

Bopster
12-10-2007, 01:05 PM
My results so far, with a lil help from my friends:sun_smile

f-town
12-10-2007, 01:31 PM
damn...you are running 1.425V cpu to get 3.6?...
i get 3.52 on a E6750 with stock volts (1.275!)
just curious if thats really necessary ;)

also i am running both C1E and EIST without any performance problems
some website ran full testing on both of those settings and found no performance degradation
in fact i run that CIA2 feature at 'racing' to go from 2.2Ghz idle to 3.0 to 3.52 under full load...no problems whatsoever
good luck :)

bugoff
12-11-2007, 12:00 PM
Not everyone is blessed with good bins. I, for one, also require high voltage if I even want to think about booting @ 3.6GHz. If your chip isn't voltage hungry, consider yourself lucky and call it a day.

Bopster
12-11-2007, 12:43 PM
I was able to back the cpu voltage off, thank you
I started with it high beacuse of what I had read in reviews.
Mem is at 5-5-5-15 2T - 5:6 Divider - 2.0 volts (down from 2.2 initally)
All other voltages bumped 0.10
Running cool and stable as a rock. Even mem heat spreaders only slightly warm.

Thanks all - TT rocks

Bop

f-town
12-11-2007, 01:24 PM
cool...looks like a nice clock for that voltage
also keep in mind that these boards seem to overvolt on RAM
i.e. the stock 1.85 = 2.0volts
+.1 = 2.1 etc

best of luck :)

bugoff
12-11-2007, 03:08 PM
I was able to back the cpu voltage off, thank you
I started with it high beacuse of what I had read in reviews.
Mem is at 5-5-5-15 2T - 5:6 Divider - 2.0 volts (down from 2.2 initally)
All other voltages bumped 0.10
Running cool and stable as a rock. Even mem heat spreaders only slightly warm.

Thanks all - TT rocks

Bop

If I were you I'd change the timings to 5-5-5-10. 5-5-5-15 is loose for those speeds. Once you verify 5-5-5-10 works (or doesn't), you may want to play with the "Refresh to ACT Delay" RAM setting in your BIOS. I've found that lowering it from 42 (default for me) to 35 has decreased latency in Sandra and Everest. Definitely a nice clock for that voltage...

f-town
12-11-2007, 08:51 PM
yes but you are running 1:1 at lower clockspeeds...
we are both running 5:6 at 3.5Ghz+... 5-5-5-15 is fairly standard for this without heavy voltage on the ram
i will check out that other ram setting tho...sounds interesting

note: i checked it out...didnt provide much of an increase in memory performance or latency
a thing to remember with these P35 boards is that tight memory timings dont provide much of a performance increase in this case
now if they could get P35 to run at 1T, that would be a different story, but i wouldnt hold my breath on that one ;)

jriker1
12-12-2007, 07:25 AM
Thank you for the info sir.

Now that you made a good point about power usage.
What would I turn back on to enable just that function out of the things you suggested I turn off?
- CPU Halt (C16)
- CPU Therm Mon (TM2)
- CPU Eist
- Virtualization
- CIA2


After you get your stable overclock,

1. Enable C1E and EIST in BIOS.
2. Set Power Options in windows to Minimal Power if Vista

Also it was mentioned in this forum that some of the items I mentioned to turn off are not necessary. They absolutely are. If you turn on any power management settings, it can cause problems with overclock stability. That is why we shut it all down to start with, and then after you reach an overclock you can live with, turn the before mentioned items back on.

JR