PDA

View Full Version : BIOS settings will not save



norm68
01-09-2008, 07:51 PM
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">
Gigabyte X38-DQ6 mobo BIOS F6b
Q6600 G0 stepping (stock HSF)
2 gig corsair XMS 6400-C4
EVGA 8800GTS SSC 640mb gpu
antec neo-power 650 watt psu
antec 900 case
WD 750 gig HDD
windows XP pro sp2

Basically where should I start to possibly OC to 2.6 or 2.8 Ghz with stock cooling, would like a stable system as well. Or not possible with stock HSF??
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/images/smilies/smile.gifI have tried the 320X9 and ram timings as above and BIOS will not save changes, after F10 it reboots 2 times and when I go back in to BIOS all back as before. I flashed to F6b and still no luck. Maybe ram and cpu settings are conflicting cause BIOS to reset??

CPU clock ration 9X
CPU host clock control enabled
CPU Host Freq 320
PCI auto
CIA auto
Perf enhancer std
system Memory multiplier 2.5
DRAM timing selectable manual
4
4
4
12
Auto for remaining settings

DDR2 Overvoltage control +0.3V

Any ideas/suggestions?? thanks.

Bohoba
01-09-2008, 11:05 PM
keep all your voltages and timings in auto

only work the FSB up do small steps

norm68
01-10-2008, 06:03 AM
kept all voltages and timings to auto and changed fsb to 320X9, looks like it saved in BIOS, but on POST screen still shows (266X9). How do I check/know if the CPU is indeed OC'ed to 2.8 Ghz?? PLease help. thanks.

Drummen
01-18-2008, 05:02 AM
Probably you are using external usb storage devices..... In the bios there is a setting "legacy USB Boot Device" which probably is enabled.

By disabling this it will post through the boot and remember your settings.... good luck
<!-- / message --><!-- message, attachments, sig -->

stasio
01-18-2008, 03:46 PM
Before you press F10,be sure that you SAVE your configuration on the bios with F11.
On stock cooling can go up to 3GHz(9x333)

norm68
01-18-2008, 09:25 PM
I have flashed to the F7 BIOS and now can get 9X333 to show up in POST. my next problem is the memory timings will not work. I replaced the corsair PC6400-C4 with Crucial Ballistix PC8500 and it does show running 1066 and DDR2 voltage is set to mem spec of 2.2V, but timings 5-5-5-15 will not save and BIOS returns to auto. Any suggestions? thanks for the replies.

cameltoetongue
01-19-2008, 02:01 PM
kept all voltages and timings to auto and changed fsb to 320X9, looks like it saved in BIOS, but on POST screen still shows (266X9).

I have been getting the same problem with my DS4 :argue:
Mine will do this randomly on a simple reboot
The way i found to fix this is by taking out cmos battery for about 10mins
pain in the arse but it will let you overclock again
I have tried F8 F9 F10 F11
Thinking about breaking m/b in two with a sledgy and going asus (will post photos if i do)

Rewl
01-19-2008, 06:06 PM
I think the board will automatically set the Ram-timings back to the lower default if it's unstable. You should rule out possible problems on that end first.

Bohoba
01-19-2008, 08:43 PM
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=299739


where I am at at the moment

it helps also if you manually set the PCI extreme to 100MHz and lower the ram to the 2.00 B setting can always bring it up later after finding a stable FSB and CPU