PDA

View Full Version : USB devices not restored after standby - GA-EP35C-DS3R



maxthebuilder
02-27-2008, 05:57 AM
I just upgraded my system to GA-EP35C-DS3R with E8400 a couple weeks ago.

What I recently noticed is that when the system goes out of standby the USB ports (or hubs?) become inactive and the system needs a reboot.

7-in-1 card reader disappears (it has 4 USB drives assigned to it)
If I stick a flash drive into any of the ports - it won't work.

However, my USB scanner and USB printer do get activated properly...
I am not sure but I think it started to happen after I flashed BIOS to the latest F3b (from F2).

Any idea? Anyone?
Thanks!
--max

Rewl
02-27-2008, 07:57 AM
only have a not too fancy idea:
install the intel chipset driver (also named something like "inf installation utility");
it includes some kind of usb-drivers too;

alternatively you could play around with different ports and also connect brackets to the on-board pins to see if maybe some usb-ports are more willing to cooperate;
(i think the sum of ports consists of different controllers, at least virtually different ones)

maxthebuilder
02-27-2008, 08:52 AM
Thanks!
I installed the new inf yesterday - didn't help.
The card reader IS connected to on-board pin.
I just reverted back to F2 BIOS - will report back if it fixes the issue..
--max


only have a not too fancy idea:
install the intel chipset driver (also named something like "inf installation utility");
it includes some kind of usb-drivers too;

alternatively you could play around with different ports and also connect brackets to the on-board pins to see if maybe some usb-ports are more willing to cooperate;
(i think the sum of ports consists of different controllers, at least virtually different ones)

Lsdmeasap
02-27-2008, 12:08 PM
Be sure you have Legacy USB devices enabled in the advanced BIOS options.

Also if you are using vista (May be in xp as well) go in power options and be sure these devices do not Power off on standby, it may be your OS system that shuts them down and does not restart them rather then the board

If that does not help, maybe see this MS article

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928631/

maxthebuilder
02-28-2008, 08:39 AM
After I reverted to F2 the problem remained...
However, looks like I fixed it by uninstalling and reinstalling all USB controllers and hubs in the Device Manager...
Thanks!

Lsdmeasap
02-28-2008, 11:04 AM
Sounds good, now you should be able to go back to the newer BIOS.

I am having some issues with USB myself!!! So dont feel bad.

Mine, used to be fine until the other day it started giving me this issue>>>
When I click "Safely Remove Devices" and remove a USB stick the screen flashes black for a second, and then back to normal, and repeats this again when I actually remove the usb stick.

I had this issue once before on a old 478 intel board, but never on my gigabyte boards. I think it may have to do with legacy usb as I suggested above because I think I enabled that to check things out for you, then disabled it again. Now either way I have this issue. Probably a clear cmos would fix it, I hope!

maxthebuilder
03-06-2008, 01:38 PM
It still doing this from time to time....
From the previous XP install (I upgraded to new cpu/mobo without reinstalling XP) I had those USBBIOSx and USBBIOSHACKS entries in the registry.. Removed them and now will see if that helps.


After I reverted to F2 the problem remained...
However, looks like I fixed it by uninstalling and reinstalling all USB controllers and hubs in the Device Manager...
Thanks!

maxthebuilder
04-02-2008, 12:46 PM
: ( STILL doing this... frustrating!
Only the card reader hooked to on-board USB-header misbehaves.
Possibly the usb hub in the monitor - discharged my e-book a couple of times.
Not always but SOMETIMES when system wakes up the card reader disappears from the system. I have to either reboot, or go to device manager and sometimes there is a not recognized device (yellow question mark) - delete that, or there's a recognized mass storage device (recognized but not working) - delete that, and scan for hardware changes..
frustrating!


It still doing this from time to time....
From the previous XP install (I upgraded to new cpu/mobo without reinstalling XP) I had those USBBIOSx and USBBIOSHACKS entries in the registry.. Removed them and now will see if that helps.

Lsdmeasap
04-02-2008, 01:07 PM
What do you have set for it in power options in control panel?

And As I said before Standby/Resume is not a good thing with a GA board, and If I didnt say it in this thread already....I just did.

I suggest you do not use it, not try to make it work properly or you could be facing the dreaded Cycle and RMA

xit2050
04-02-2008, 02:44 PM
Be sure you have Legacy USB devices enabled in the advanced BIOS options.

Be aware that enabling this and having an external USB HDD means you won't be able to overclock.

Lsdmeasap
04-02-2008, 02:49 PM
Yes, that is recommended to be disabled for overclocking, and trouble shooting for sure

maxthebuilder
04-03-2008, 03:05 AM
Ouch!! I miss my MSI board...
Thanks anyway!



And As I said before Standby/Resume is not a good thing with a GA board, ...
I suggest you do not use it, not try to make it work properly or you could be facing the dreaded Cycle and RMA

maxthebuilder
04-03-2008, 03:09 AM
Can you elaborate on this please? Never heard this statement before..
My CPU is overclocked about 2% - maybe that's why I'm having problems.
My Opteron/MSI board was overclocked by 20% and I never had a single problem with that system..


Be aware that enabling this and having an external USB HDD means you won't be able to overclock.

Lsdmeasap
04-03-2008, 03:22 AM
Do you use resume? If so, turn it off and see if that fixes your issue

maxthebuilder
04-03-2008, 03:45 AM
What do you mean by "resume"?
I would like to put my PC to Standby rather then OFF, and then, yes, I would like to "resume" to wake it up (right now i am doing it with the power button).
I have several puters in my household and at work - none of them have this issue (ASUS, Abit and even ESC). Only this Gigabyte misbehaves..


Do you use resume? If so, turn it off and see if that fixes your issue

Lsdmeasap
04-03-2008, 03:58 AM
Yeap, Only GA boards do it mostly. And yes Resume/standy is what I mean, I suggest you do not use this feature.

Resuming is not really any faster anyway, it just makes you think that it is. And sometimes it is actually slower then booting up your computer

maxthebuilder
04-03-2008, 04:31 AM
Here I have to disagree... Standby/resume is much faster.
I can't believe GA board do this..



Yeap, Only GA boards do it mostly. And yes Resume/standy is what I mean, I suggest you do not use this feature.

Resuming is not really any faster anyway, it just makes you think that it is. And sometimes it is actually slower then booting up your computer

Lsdmeasap
04-03-2008, 11:28 AM
Are you just saying that? The tests I have done, since Core2 came out boot time is faster then a resume, now with a pentium 4 or older then yes resume would be faster.

Now, depending on how many things you actually let your system load at startup would offset this as well. So if you do load 80 or more processes at startup, then yes that could be slower.

If you have Norton installed, either way the system will be slow HAHA

xit2050
04-03-2008, 02:19 PM
Can you elaborate on this please? Never heard this statement before..
My CPU is overclocked about 2% - maybe that's why I'm having problems.
My Opteron/MSI board was overclocked by 20% and I never had a single problem with that system..

Personal experience.
Check my thread on anandtech where I discovered this: http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=28&threadid=2159550&highlight_key=y

Lsdmeasap
04-03-2008, 02:28 PM
Thanks!

I have read several threads, and dont have Much personal experiences in this matter, and could not find the threads I have read. I knew from those threads literally at least 30 or so I have read, that this is a NO NO For overclocking.

I would assume with it enabled maybe when you overclock it tries to push to much power or Freq thru external devices so that is why the boards do not let it happen? But that is just my guess

maxthebuilder
04-08-2008, 07:29 AM
Well.. I just timed my system.. 45s boot time. 10s resume from standby.

Still no solution to me little problem. The weirdest thing about it is that most of the times the system comes out of standby just fine and only occasionally it won't...




Are you just saying that? The tests I have done, since Core2 came out boot time is faster then a resume, now with a pentium 4 or older then yes resume would be faster.

Lsdmeasap
04-08-2008, 12:54 PM
Dont say I didnt warn you in a few months when you need a RMA

maxthebuilder
04-08-2008, 02:45 PM
sheesh... i always thought gigabyte was making high quality products..
still, the 2 devices I am having the problem with are - el cheapo card reader and a dell lcd monitor (with allegedly underpowered usb hub/ports).
Maybe I can tweak some voltages in BIOS to put more power into on-board USB?

maxthebuilder
04-10-2008, 03:07 PM
Upped memory voltage from 1.8 to 2.0 and so far (2 days) didn't have any prob with coming out of standby...

GIGABYTE - Janus Yeh
04-11-2008, 01:37 PM
Try S1(pos) In Bios?