PDA

View Full Version : extra fans??



infielder6
05-24-2002, 12:10 AM
i have a geforce 4 ti 4400 and an amd anthalon xp 1800 based system... i'm using a ECS K7S5A mobo that i've heard has power issues.. mainly that it freezes if the power supply isn't strong or good enough.. anyways... i only have a 300w psu and was wondering if you guys think that i need extra case fans to cool my system.. i am only using the one case fan that it came with... also how much of a drain will they be on my psu.. would i need to upgrade that as well... thanks for the info...

Darthtanion
05-24-2002, 12:18 AM
Extra fans will never hurt. And as to how much of a drain it will be on your system, well... that depends on the fan. If you look around, you'll be able to see what kind of wattage it will draw from the PSU. To start you off in your research, here is the address to Delta: http://www.deltaww.com/

As for your current PSU, if you start to have issues, then replace it. Some 300 watt units are built very well and can take the extra workload. Others can't.

Good luck. :)

Wiggo
05-24-2002, 12:34 AM
Quite a few ppl's problems have been fixed by fitting chipset coolers to them. Aparently it's held on by frag tape, but then there's no guarantee that it will work as I've had no issues there, only the PSU when used with and Athlon, but many others have also been having problems with boards using 2 sticks of memory plus a lot of bad BIOS flashes as well. :(
I think they really rushed this board out to stick to a timetable.
Over at OCWorkbench forums they have a divided forum dedicted to this board and you could drop the whole TT Forums into it and it will probably rattle still. Oh and that's divided into last years threads and this years. :eek:
Mind you they don't have too much trouble with Durons in them and 1 good stick of ram. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

infielder6
05-24-2002, 01:31 AM
i haven't had any problems with mine, my friend has though. but i was just wondering if adding extra case fans would cause problems... coz my system seems to be running hot..

FLaCo
05-24-2002, 05:46 AM
if i were you..i wouldn't even ..bother with with fans..just open your panel that the way i have mine and works just fine just every once in a while blow it with some endust (compressed air) my new 'puter with have five fans three exhaust and two intakes but that alreay becuase i got it with it... Just open i have no trouble and mine runs cool....any ways Peace! : peace2:

daedalus
05-24-2002, 11:37 AM
Quite a few ppl's problems have been fixed by fitting chipset coolers to them. Aparently it's held on by frag tape,

Yeah, and it doesn't have a fan either...So it'd be a sound suggestion to put an active chipset cooler on just incase. And if you plan on FSB overclocking, it may even help there too. :thumb:

Beefy
05-24-2002, 12:03 PM
if i were you..i wouldn't even ..bother with with fans..just open your panel that the way i have mine and works just fine just every once in a while blow it with some endust (compressed air) my new 'puter with have five fans three exhaust and two intakes but that alreay becuase i got it with it... Just open i have no trouble and mine runs cool....any ways Peace! : peace2:

That's not the best way to do it. If you have a decent fan setup in your case, then you can easily get better temps than with the side open.

FLaCo
05-24-2002, 12:12 PM
I agree with you all the .100% that is why i am getting a decent fan setup in my new case. This case i have now is no good when it comes to fans (why becuase there is no space for 'em). I am running a P3 933 HSF thats it...and right now i am having no trouble with it YET. I understand tho why he should go with fans; but, if money or anything else is an issue i would run it with out the panel...i think its better than having closed without fans...don;t you think? Anyhow : peace2: He can also have an issue with ribbons in the way and resrtciting air flow.

Wiggo
05-24-2002, 12:35 PM
If your temps go down dramatically with the case open then there is a need to do something about ya air circulation in ya case. A couple of holes cut into the side panel plus a couple of well positioned fans and grills is pretty easy to do. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

infielder6
05-24-2002, 01:19 PM
okay.. thanks for all of the advice... um... one question is what is the normal temperature for my system to be running at...

amd anthalon xp 1800
512 mb ddr ram
gf4 ti4400

and how can i check from windows xp


really i'm just going by touch.. it seems pretty hot to me.. much hotter than my old one...

Beefy
05-24-2002, 01:26 PM
anything over 50c under full load and you should start doing something about it.

You can check in your BIOS, or download a program like Motherboard Monitor and use that to monitor your temps. The old 'by touch' test isn't really the best way to go.. :)

infielder6
05-24-2002, 09:47 PM
thanks.... i'll go check that program out..

Wiggo
05-24-2002, 11:01 PM
The link for MBM is here http://mbm.livewiredev.com/ and info on how to configure it there also. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

ReSpAwN DeMoN
05-25-2002, 12:47 PM
My computer has an extremely good fan setup (11 fans total)...however....I'm not sure when it comes to celcius so I'm gonna give it to you in farenight I'm actually quite curiuos...well forone thing my parets are money saving freaks and they have the house set to like 78F during the day and they turn it off altogether at night the house usually creeps up to like 82F.....so that should explain why my computer runs hotter then most comps...my main question is this........during the day my processor runs on average of 104F but at night it'll creep up to 109F is this bad for the processor with the constant up and down up and down of the temperature?

Darthtanion
05-25-2002, 01:47 PM
You should be just fine with those numbers. 104F equates to roughly around 40C, so you'll do just fine.

ReSpAwN DeMoN
05-25-2002, 02:06 PM
I understand that part.....but when toggling between 109 and 104 every night and day............is that safe for hardware? I heard when things go hot and cold hot and cold and constnat temperature changes I fear one morning I'll wake up and instead of seeing my desktop I look at a BSOD.....and I can boot up after rebooting and I find out my proessor die is cracked.........ya I would go out and buy an AthlonXP2100+ YAY YAAAAAAY....but I'm not exactly in the financial position to go out and spend over 200 dollars for that..... (yet)

FLaCo
05-26-2002, 02:12 AM
I'm a Lab Tech for soils so i use the C to F conversion formula all the time. It work backwards too. It C x 1.8 +32 = F (or to get it to convert to C) F - 32 / 1.8 = C (i.e. 35C x 1.8 + 32 =95 F - 32 / 1.8 = 35 C ) just felt like sharing that... that way you peeps no how to convert ( i know i know...i'm a nerd!) :D

ReSpAwN DeMoN
05-26-2002, 02:52 AM
Thank you I can reallly use that when posting in this forum. Everone wants celcius and I'm growing up using farenheight I"ll never get used to celcius so I can really use this formula

Darthtanion
05-26-2002, 03:29 AM
There are also any number of freeware converters that you can download, or this site that allows you to convert from Farahnheit or Celsius to Reaumur, Kelvin or Rankine.
http://students.washington.edu/kyle/temp.html

Concerning your question, though, there won't be any problems. 104F - 109F isn't much of a temperature change, so you won't be stressing out your components.

FLaCo
05-27-2002, 12:14 PM
no prob...about the formula...i too was used to using F but now a days i use C as well...Hey i am from Florida too ..cool...i'm from Miami!: peace2:

Beefy
05-27-2002, 12:30 PM
I heard when things go hot and cold hot and cold and constnat temperature changes I fear one morning I'll wake up and instead of seeing my desktop I look at a BSOD.....

The only time that the hot / cold change can cause damage is if it's very sudden and drastic. Dropping 10F in the space of an hour won't do a thing... Dropping 100F in less than 3 seconds could do some damage... :)

Mr. C
05-27-2002, 02:01 PM
Dropping 100F in less than 3 seconds could do some damage... :)
That will ruin a window kit:eek:

Beefy
05-27-2002, 02:06 PM
that will ruin a lot of things.... glass, some metals... not good at all.. :)

Broke a lot of test tubes at school like that.

Albinus
05-30-2002, 05:29 PM
That will ruin a window kit:eek:


^^^ That comment is coming from the king of temperature inversions :laugh:

Any windscreens broken recently Charles? ;)

Mr. C
05-30-2002, 07:03 PM
Not lately, thank goodness:eek:
The missus pretty much trashed 1 a while back - 13 chips I counted:?: How she did it, I'll never know.

Man, she would have ragged on me for months if I had done that.