PDA

View Full Version : How would I know if I blew out my chip?



Yohhan
05-27-2002, 02:21 PM
Would it be obvious, aka the computer just wouldn't start and BIOS wouldn't POST, or would it start up act funny and then shut down?

Darthtanion
05-27-2002, 08:15 PM
Are you talking about the chipset on the motherboard? I would imagine that the system wouldn't even POST at all. I can't say for sure, though, since I haven't had the opportunity to blow up a motherboard (yet).

Mr.Tweak
05-27-2002, 08:18 PM
It would most likely startup and start beeping beep codes at you.

Mr.Tweak
05-27-2002, 08:18 PM
That's if power was even getting to the board....

Yohhan
05-28-2002, 03:35 AM
I'm talking about the cpu. If my pentium chip was blown out. Sorry for the confusion.

Mr.Tweak
05-28-2002, 09:18 AM
Black screen.

Darthtanion
05-28-2002, 09:58 AM
Black screen.

:laugh: :laugh: LOL :laugh: :laugh:
You sound like one who speaks from experience.

FLaCo
05-28-2002, 10:08 AM
:laugh: That was funny.."Black Screen" ...can't get any simpler than that.:clap:

Moose
05-28-2002, 10:42 AM
I'm talking about the cpu. If my pentium chip was blown out. Sorry for the confusion.

If your CPU is blown...The Mainboard will give you a series of codes, known as "Beep Codes"

Depending on what BIOS your mainboard uses will determine what codes will be sounded..

For more information on the codes visit...


http://www.pcmech.com/show/troubleshoot/14/


Cheers,
Moose

Divine_Madcat
05-28-2002, 11:28 AM
Yup, if it is JUST the CPU, you will get beep codes... If it is damage from improper HSF attachment, then you wont get jack, as the Mainboard is dead as well.. power surge... well.. it might spin the fans, but not much else..

Beefy
05-28-2002, 11:37 AM
Yup, if it is JUST the CPU, you will get beep codes... If it is damage from improper HSF attachment, then you wont get jack, as the Mainboard is dead as well.. power surge... well.. it might spin the fans, but not much else..

It depends on how you 'improperly' installed the HSF... you don't normally kill a mainboard if you install a HSF the wrong way..

Moose
05-28-2002, 11:41 AM
I remember when I installed my HSF upside down once...

That killed the CPU....and they wouldn't replace it under warranty :geek:

Divine_Madcat
05-28-2002, 12:25 PM
It depends on how you 'improperly' installed the HSF... you don't normally kill a mainboard if you install a HSF the wrong way..

Well, that is not true either.. if you have a T-Bird or Xp, and you dont attach it so it cools, you will BURN your mobo.. Somewhat the same way with 370s (Coppermines), but not nearly as bad.....

Beefy
05-28-2002, 01:08 PM
didn't see mine burn.. Like I said, it depends on how you improperly install it.

Divine_Madcat
05-28-2002, 01:13 PM
Odddd... Never heard of an uncooled T-Bird NOT cooking the board.. butt... ok.. :)

Yohhan
05-28-2002, 01:24 PM
Installed the HSF upside down? As a newbie to this, that makes me feel a little better. So at least I'm not the only one screwing up their stuff the first go 'round. :-)

Maybe someone can help me with this, I haven't had much luck so far. I purchased the following components to build a new box:

MSI Mainboard SIS 645 chipset
P4 1.5 cpu 478 socket
case w/ 400 volt PSU
Geforce3 Ti200
512 MB DDR ram

At the moment I have no cards or devices in the box, other than the video card. What seems to be completely random occurences seem to happen whenever I boot up though. Sometimes I start up and am able to get into BIOS without trouble. However, When modifying BIOS, it almost always freezes up on me before I can save and exit. On restart, nothing shows up on the monitor, although the monitor light is green, indicating input, (as opposed to yellow). The system doesn't beep, and it seems as if only the fan is running. At this point if I reset CMOS, I can get the computer to start normally again, but it always ends up freezing in BIOS. The behavior is almost completely erratic, and sometimes I get random error messages like: "Low Battery" (though I just bought the thing), and "CMOS Setting Error", although I've been VERY careful not to start my computer with CMOS in reset mode.

I checked the temperatures of the cpu and mobo, and they're both running around 86 degrees F. I did not use thermal grease between the HSF and cpu, and the HSF didn't have any padding on the bottom. Some have told me this isn't a problem, others have told me it is. I've tried swapping my geforce3 video card for my older diamond viper. Same situation. The geforce works fine on my other computer. So I'm thinking the problem must be with the cpu, motherboard, or my RAM.

I heard that a certain type of RAM works better on the MSI board, though I can't recall what it was. I don't have any other RAM to substitute in to check, since my older computer uses SDRAM, and it doesn't fit in the newer DDR slots on my new mobo. Does it sound like RAM could be causing the problem? Or does it sound like I blew something out on my mobo or cpu?

This is all from the mind of a newbie, so if I misinterpreted anything, feel free to correct me. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated, as I'm trying to prepare myself to deal with this $800 paper weight.

Thanks.

Wiggo
05-28-2002, 01:36 PM
Yohhan[/size]]
I did not use thermal grease between the HSF and cpu, and the HSF didn't have any padding on the bottom. Some have told me this isn't a problem, others have told me it is.
Well it isn't a good thing to do so get some AS3 in there quickly as air pockets between core and HSF are probably causing hot spots and that maybe what your problem is. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Beefy
05-28-2002, 01:53 PM
sounds like a problem I had on my old MSI K7T Pro2-A... and that ended up being a cracked CPU core... I could occasionally get into the BIOS.. sometimes even start to boot, but it always crashed... Check your CPU for any cracks / fractures on the top...

Wiggo
05-28-2002, 01:58 PM
It does have an IHS on top of the core though. :smokin:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

Divine_Madcat
05-28-2002, 02:02 PM
I think your CPU is/had some real problems with no thermal interface material of any sort.. the users who told u that u didnt need it probably dont have hot CPU types... remember... even if a core or heatsink LOOKs flat, it still has microscopic pits, which when added up, means alot of area is still not being contacted... the TIMis used to fill in those spots..without it, not enough contact can be made, and it can/will overheat...

Beefy
05-28-2002, 02:08 PM
*slaps self*

I've gotta stop thinking Athlon. I didn't even realise we were talking P4 here... but anyways...

Definitely get some form of thermal contact in there. Divine_MC was spot on with what he said. But I don't know if you would have damaged your CPU or not, because P4's are good at throttling themselves down when they overheat, so it might have saved itself... ya never know

Divine_Madcat
05-28-2002, 02:13 PM
That makes two of us Beefy.. But the P4s can still suffer heat damage.. just not as easily. If it happens suddenly, or happens constantly, it can still suffer in the long term.. i would not rule out damage, but i would consider now conflicts as well.. i know certain mobos that wont boot if they havea certain brand NIC.. could be the same way here...

Moose
05-28-2002, 02:16 PM
Installed the HSF upside down? As a newbie to this, that makes me feel a little better. So at least I'm not the only one screwing up their stuff the first go 'round. :-)



I didn't really put it on upside down...I was just being myself....:crazy: :)

Beefy
05-28-2002, 02:27 PM
i've done all sorts of stupid installations of heatsinks.. the best way to learn (expensive though.. :( )

Divine_Madcat
05-28-2002, 02:32 PM
Check.. Double check, and finally, turn on coputer with head stuck in case watching every component with hand wrpped tightly around the power cord, ready to pull it at the first sign of a problem.. :)

Beefy
05-28-2002, 02:38 PM
Don't literally stick your head in your case of course.. :D

Divine_Madcat
05-28-2002, 02:44 PM
Oh, of course!! COuld you only imagine the pain induced by having your hair caught in a 7000RPM Delta fan??? I mean.. pain galore.. but you Do need to be close enough so u can tell.. :)

Yohhan
05-29-2002, 12:41 AM
So even if the BIOS never registered the BIOS temp going higher than 90 degrees F or so, it could still damage itself? I've never had it on more than a few minutes at a time. It heats up that fast?

What does IHS stand for?

Thanks, I'll start by getting some thermal grease.

Divine_Madcat
05-29-2002, 01:39 AM
Like i sid, it is possible... wait.. bioses donnt normally read in F.. areyou SURE it was 90*F, and NOT 90*C??? If it was 90*C, it F*cked, if it is 90*F, then your quite fine, and it is a conflict..

Yohhan
05-29-2002, 06:41 AM
I'm sure it was F. The BIOS shows C and F. C was like in the 30's or something.

Where can I order/purchase some of that thermal grease? Do they have that stuff at a Best Buy/Fry's, or online somewhere?

Yohhan
05-29-2002, 06:45 AM
One more question about the putting my head in the case part..

What exactly am I looking for? If I see something blow up on my motherboard, I figure it would be too late to bother pulling the cord anyways... I might as well just enjoy an $800 bonfire? j/k:-) Should I be looking for something less obvious?

Moose
05-29-2002, 08:19 AM
Like i sid, it is possible... wait.. bioses donnt normally read in F..


Actually most BIOS's display temperatures in both F and C :p

Beefy
05-29-2002, 08:26 AM
that's exactly right.. there's usually a ?? C / ?? F temp reading.. :)