PDA

View Full Version : Please help!!!



ne0z
12-11-2001, 07:00 AM
hey guys and gals,

I just got Mandrake 8.1 and installed on my workstation at work to act as a monitor box. I have used linux distro's for many years and I am fairly good. The problem I am having though is when I setup networking and try to connect to our Windows 2000 Domain (like this : smb://SERVER.IMS-Loxley) it just hangs. And the Mandrake box does not appear in Entire Network on any of the windoze box's. What am I doing wrong?

Loopy
12-11-2001, 09:38 PM
using windows..


--sorry could not help myself..

ne0z
12-12-2001, 06:30 AM
Yeah we are using windows domain... We had a multi-million dollar Windows network in place before I become the Administrator. I am however making plans to switch to HP-Unix

Bern
12-12-2001, 05:41 PM
Have you got samba installed on the mandrake box?

DigitalDD
12-12-2001, 07:46 PM
Yeah we are using windows domain... We had a multi-million dollar Windows network in place before I become the Administrator. I am however making plans to switch to HP-Unix

HP-UX is pretty damn super stable.. Especially the N2000 architechture which pretty much has redundant everything..:D

ne0z
12-12-2001, 11:58 PM
yes I do have Samba installed it is version 2.2.1a I like it more than 2.2.2 for stability reasons. I have went over the smb.conf file time after time and I can not find anything wrong.

Bern
12-13-2001, 12:08 AM
Might it be an eth0 problem then?

ne0z
12-14-2001, 06:45 AM
well guys I got it to work, it was an authentication problem on our domain server so I switched to share level auth. Now every machine works except for the new WinXP boxes in accounting.