PDA

View Full Version : Which one can i prefer(AMD 770/SB600 or 780G/SB700)



2007navid
08-22-2008, 07:28 PM
I have a qustion about ABIT AX78 mainboard that has the AMD 770/ SB600 chipset.recently i read in some websites that SB600 drive controller has problem working with SATA disks.using sp2 hotfix of Vista for sb600 makes it work well with SATA but on more CPU usage(http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-366-10.htm).NOW the qustion ,Is CPU usage sensible(can i deal with that?) ?does AMD780G/ sb700 have the same problem on SATA
How about Abit mainboards with NVIDIA chipsets?(no matter to have an onboard graphic caus i am not a gamer).Aren't AMD chipsets more compatibe with AMD CPUs?
I can pay up to 140$ for mainboard. can i find better mainboard in ASUS or GIGABITE for my phenomX3 AMD cpu?

bnborg
04-22-2009, 08:22 AM
Your link does not work for me.

I have a 780G. SATA works fine, but the BIOS RAID on it has problems.

sober-the-warrior
09-25-2009, 01:50 AM
Stick with the AMD chipsets for the AMD CPUs. IMHO the nVidia chipsets haven't been up-to-par recently.

I have used multiple 780G mobos, and just recently, a 785G mobo. They all ran SATA great, and I'm currently running RAID 0 and RAID 1 on these chipsets fine. (All the boards I've used were from Gigabyte, but ASUS should be fine too)

Consider getting the 785G, and an easy way to find the best bang for your buck: BE - Components - Motherboards - AMD 785G (http://www.buildegg.com/component/?category=69)

Oh -- and $140 is way over what you should pay for these boards (if you're in the US). 785G boards are $90-100, and 780G boards are around $75

EDIT: oh crap, I just realized this thread is from last year -- DOH sorries.

bnborg
09-25-2009, 05:30 AM
Sober, your comments are still appreciated.

I think my problems with RAID 1 have more to do with trying to use it for Hyper-V on Windows Server 2008.

The newest NV motherboards I have are all NV4, but I love them.

What I like is being able to mix IDE and SATA drives in a RAID.

artdrivers
09-25-2009, 06:06 AM
bnborg I agree Here is a benchmark of my RAID The HDD specs are in my signature. My RAID has Windows XP 32bit installed on it though. My Windows 7 is on the SATA1 in IDE mode. It's a beta
SATA2 RAID mode
http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/1543/raidspeed.jpg
By artdrivers (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/artdrivers) at 2009-09-23
SATA1 in AHCI mode
http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/4492/ahcispeed.jpg
By artdrivers (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/artdrivers) at 2009-09-23
SATA1 in IDE mode
http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/7744/idespeed.jpg
By artdrivers (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/artdrivers) at 2009-09-23
SATA1 in