PDA

View Full Version : The TweakTown Official SuperPi 1M Top List



BongWizard
10-22-2008, 03:13 PM
I thought this might be a bit of fun... post your best times for 1 million decimal places of pi using SuperPi mod 1.5 and I'll keep updating this thread with the best times for both Intel and AMD CPUs (AMD needs its own section because they always get majorly owned! lol).

To make it a valid attempt, simply run SuperPi 1M, let it finish, open up CPU-Z and take a screenshot. Then post your Processor, clock speed, memory and HDD along with that screenshot... I'll give you all an example to get started with.

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
Clock Speed: 3735MHz
RAM: Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 996MHz (4-5-5-15-2T)
HDD: 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB in RAID5

http://i38.tinypic.com/2hmzfbp.png


The fastest times are currently:

Intel
AleSlammer - C2D E8500 @ 4.64GHz - 2x1GB Patriot PC2-9600 @ 1236MHz - XP SP3 - 9.984s
ANZAC_ELITE - C2D E8600 @ 4.5GHz - 2x2GB Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 @ 1333MHz - Vista SP1 - 10.404s
LSDmeASAP - Xeon E3110 @ 4.05GHz - 2x2GB Mushkin PC2-6400 @ 900MHz - Vista SP1 - 11.684s
BongWizard - C2Q Q9300 @ 3.74GHz - 2x2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 996MHz - XP SP3 (Black) - 11.943s

AMD

none yet!


If you haven't got SuperPi or CPU-Z you can get the here
http://www.xtremesystems.com/pi/
http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php


Last updated at post #29

Lsdmeasap
10-22-2008, 03:29 PM
Sounds like it could get fun, especially if we all start trying to tweak further.

Hey I dont think HDD's matter? Or was you just wanting to show off your RAID..... (Just giving you a hard time here :laughing: )

CPU: Intel Core 2 Xeon E3110
Clock Speed: 4050MHz
RAM: Mushkin XP (996580) PC2-6400 @ 900MHz (5-4-4-12-2T)
HDD: 2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 RAID 0

http://i33.tinypic.com/rjo6pu.png

Have to test out my 4.3 profile I have and see how it does.

Hey, did you notice once you click ok, and it shows all the values it has already tested that the amount differs from the final listed, and the 19 iteration as well? Wonder why that is? If you need to know what I mean let me know and I will post a screenie

BongWizard
10-22-2008, 03:41 PM
the HDD does make a difference to a certain extent... at a certain point it stops making a difference... i thinks thats somewhere around 110-120MB/s... you can test this by using the exact same setup, but running the app on an old IDE hard drive or an external... i was running it off my external which is USB and couldn't get better than 16s using the same specs.

that list shows your best score since that little .dat2 file was created... but if its showing something higher than the score you got there then no, i dont know what you mean

but nice score... i wanna see some of you guys with C2D Wolfdales get some serious OCing going on and get down into the 9s

Lsdmeasap
10-22-2008, 04:06 PM
Ahh, Ok. Learn something new everyday.

I see, I guess I never noticed it was there on startup. Ya, it is less then that above, 11.232

Ill do some tests here this week with 4.3 and above, and 540+ FSB. I cannot go much beyond that, well at least I havent yet.

ANZAC_ELITE
10-22-2008, 04:18 PM
CPU: E8600
Clock Speed: 4438MHz
4GB Kingston HyperX PC3 11000 @ 1066MHz (6-6-6-18-1N) KHX11000D3LLK2_2G x2
1 x WD 320GB SATAII
Vista Ultimate SP1 x64

http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/1283/superpi3wx2.jpg


CPU: E8600
Clock Speed: 4438MHz
4GB Kingston HyperX PC3 11000 @ 1066MHz (6-6-6-18-1N) KHX11000D3LLK2_2G x2
1 x WD 320GB SATAII
XP Pro SP3 x86

http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/1133/prime953xpbq8.jpg

BongWizard
10-22-2008, 07:43 PM
nice one ANZAC! you should be able to get below 10 seconds with just a wee bit more on the CPU... like 4.5GHz should get you there...

come on guys! lets see some sub 10 second runs!! get tweakin!

EDIT: hey LSD... can you pin this... maybe if it stays up there we can get more people into it

ANZAC_ELITE
10-22-2008, 08:33 PM
sub 10 would be nice, its been warm the last few days so I didn't push it too much but 4.50GHz should be there, it was 33C today apparently.

You can grow to dislike summer when you overclock.

BongWizard
10-23-2008, 10:00 AM
i know what you're sayin man... i've had to downclock a bit to keep my temps nice and low... but its not too much of an issue for me because i've got the q9300 and its really not limited by heat so much as the locked multiplier... i tend to go for my biggest OCs late at night after it gets colder so i dont have to worry about the heat too much, but in queensland it'd stay pretty warm all night eh?

Lsdmeasap
10-23-2008, 12:57 PM
Wow, I need to find some spare time!

I am not sure if I can pin things outside of the Gigabyte section, if I have supermod powers I think I can. Which I may have as I ban from anywhere.

Will pin now if I can, and then looks like I need to improve my submission

*EDIT*

Pinned

Now lets get them scores rolling in!

BongWizard
10-23-2008, 02:43 PM
sweet as! thanks man! now lets see some big scores! or should that be small scores in this case?!?

ANZAC_ELITE
10-23-2008, 05:14 PM
I was hoping my Foxconn Blackops would be here when I got home from work, no such luck apparently :bawling:

Hopefully it will arrive tomorrow or I'll have to rethink my weekend plans

:beerchug:

Lsdmeasap
10-23-2008, 05:21 PM
Let us see some pics I hear they are nice. How is the BIOS on those these days?

BongWizard
10-23-2008, 05:38 PM
oh god thats a sick board!!! i'd love to get my hands on one of those... apparently it'll support an FSB up to somewhere around 600MHz with a dual core... and triple CF would be sweet as... i just wish they had rethought the expansion slot config so you could get 3 dual slot cards in there... triple 4870X2s... now that would be dope! i wanna see some serious OCs when you do get that board... LUCKY

ANZAC_ELITE
10-24-2008, 05:26 AM
The guy I'm getting it off loaded the G30 Beta bios onto it. It's my first Foxconn board and just reading up on it I appear to have a steep learning curve ahead of me with regards to the bios

Auspost tracking says it has been received at my local distribution centre so it looks like I'm getting it today alright.

Roll on 4.00pm so I can get away from work.

Lsdmeasap
10-24-2008, 03:10 PM
Pics!

Looks like I need to get some more Scores posted!

Aleslammer
10-27-2008, 10:00 AM
This is my 24x7 score if you look at the PI startup screen to the right you can see my best 1M. I forgot to to save a screenie


http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo174/Aleslammer/24x7PIScore.jpg
CPU, E8500 at 9x460 (4140 MHz) with a TU120E
MB, Asus P5E, BIOS 0903
Memory, 2x1 Patriot PC29600 at 1226 MHz
OS, Windows XP Pro SP3

Was running 4x1 on the memory with the 10.05 score, have pulled 2 sticks to try for sub 10 seconds. Two sticks make my Latency 48.3 ns, four sticks 49.8 ns, average from Everest. Don't know if it will work but going to give it a try once the Air Overclocking Gods unleash winter on the northern hemisphere.


Good thread
Aleslammer

BongWizard
10-27-2008, 12:24 PM
gotta love the cold winters for some serious OCing! thats some pretty quick RAM timings... good effort!

if you remember what the clock speed was on that 10 second score i'll throw it up there too

ANZAC_ELITE
10-29-2008, 05:49 AM
Best run so far with the new board.

CPU: E8600
Clock Speed: 4500MHz
2GB Kingston HyperX PC3 11000 @ 1333MHz (7-7-7-1N) KHX11000D3LLK2_2G
1 x WD 320GB SATAII
Vista Ultimate SP1 x64




http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/5792/superpi4qu2.jpg

Lsdmeasap
10-29-2008, 03:28 PM
Dam N nice voltages you got there! What Vtt and SB voltages are you using?

ANZAC_ELITE
10-29-2008, 07:04 PM
cpuz is reading the NB voltage as VCore for some reason, VCore is actually 1.35v

In Windows under load (prime95 x64 v25.7) it is 1.33v

EDIT:

VTT is 1.2

SB is 1.5

Edit 2:

I have had the same problem with 4*1GB modules in this board as I had in the P5E3 so I ran memtest86+ v2.01 on them last night, one kit fails Test #8 horribly which is strange because both kits passed less than a month ago, I guess they were going and finally decided to go, :cackle:

RMA in progress

Memtest Fail pic (http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/5233/dscf0775ub8.jpg)

And WTF is ImageShack up to???? might be time to recover my photobucket account, :Whatever_

Lsdmeasap
10-31-2008, 05:37 PM
Ahh, sounds like you killed them! Ya, I thought that was kinda low Vcore for that speed! Wonder why CPU-z does that, I have never seen it error. Maybe the speed has it loosing it's mind :laughing:

Ya imageshack is about dead to me. I use tinypic.com nowadays for single pics and photobucket for alot at once

ANZAC_ELITE
11-01-2008, 05:38 AM
Seems strange they just decided to die, they've never been over 1333MHz and never been over voltage max spec, I guess it happens. They're only 10 months old too, RIP, lol

Lsdmeasap
11-01-2008, 06:53 PM
Did you push them to tight maybe? That can kill em as well.

That is kinda quick to die too!

ANZAC_ELITE
11-02-2008, 05:21 AM
only to the 1066MHz 6-6-6-18, SPD is 914MHz 6-6-6-18, 1066MHz 7-7-7-20 so I doubt the extra 150MHz would be sufficient to knock them over. They're rated to run 1375MHz 7-7-7-20 at 1.7v according to the data sheet, KHX11000D3LLK2/2G (http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/KHX11000D3LLK2_2G.pdf) so I really doubt 1066MHz 6-6-6-18 would be the cause.

The other 2*1GB kit that was installed during the same run is still working just fine.

Aleslammer
11-02-2008, 06:06 AM
CPU, E8500 at 9.5x485 (4608) with a TU120E
MB, Asus P5E, BIOS 0903
Memory, 2x1 Patriot PC29600 at 5:4 1212 5-5-5-15-3-50 tRD7
OS, Windows XP Pro SP3

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo174/Aleslammer/FastPI.jpg

To much voltage, left the window open, room was around 10c when I started, looks like 4 sticks are faster?

ANZAC_ELITE
11-02-2008, 06:13 AM
mmmmmmm, have to agree with you on the vcore, it is a "tad excessive" for air cooling, nice score though none the less.

So close to sub 10 too

Four modules equals double the capacity, bang the other two in and run it again, lol (j/k)

Aleslammer
11-02-2008, 07:33 AM
ANZAC_ELITE

I don't think the board is up to much more, would post at 4.7 when I started but no Windows. Made Windows at 4650 locked up when I started Everest, 4635+\- stayed around just long enough to do a Everest memory test and play with the timings in MemSet. This is the second time I've pushed it and both times have topped out around 4610 using 9 or 9.5. 8.5 needs more FSB than the board has for 4.6. Even cooled it better this time with the side panel removed and a floor fan on high blowing on the board.

Close but no cigar on sub 10s

Time to have a few pints :beer:

Aleslammer

ANZAC_ELITE
11-03-2008, 04:38 AM
mmmmmmmm, pints

That's not too bad an oc for you chip, I'm still struggling for 100% stability at 4.50GHz, hopefully the next bios revision will address a couple of little issues to do with GTL Ref voltages, currently the settings are +1 +2 +3 etc which make it virtually impossible to know what you're actually setting the voltage to without using a multi meter.

500MHz FSB is stable enough but I run into "issues" try to go much higher, more time needed in the bios untill I get used to it I think

BongWizard
11-05-2008, 07:39 PM
yeah your definitely gonna need some better cooling on that... also try to drop the voltage down a bit... 1.528V after droop is a bit crazy... you could always try voltmodding the board in order to keep the voltage down a bit... some extra voltage and a touch more skew on the FSB might also help you get stable...

i've seen guys get that chip up to 4.82GHz on air and about 5.3GHz on water (on P45 boards)... so with a bit of tweaking you should be able to get 4.7 at least...

oh yeah... you could also try lapping the cooler and the CPU itself

Aleslammer
11-06-2008, 06:57 AM
I'm using the native BIOS which is rather vanilla, would have to go to the Rampage Formula or P5E Deluxe BIOS to get Skew settings. The P5E Deluxe won't run my standard OC at 9x460 and the RF BIOS 0403 limited my ram to around 1150mhz with the same max FSB speed as the native BIOS, haven't tried the newer RF BIOS to see if they improved the memory stability, might do that.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p> </o:p>
Temps never really got out of hand, saw a 68c core as I remember. With the cool room and the floor fan the RAM and NB never got more than warm to the touch.
<o:p> </o:p>
About all I can do is try a newer RF BIOS and see if I can pull a few more Mhz from the board and a little more from the RAM. Or try a new MB.

Thanks for the Comments
Aleslammer
<o:p> </o:p>

Aleslammer
11-07-2008, 01:12 PM
Thanks BongWizard for making the comment about skew settings, flashed from the P5E0903 to the Rampage BIOS 0410 added 13Mhz to my FSB and a strong 70Mhz to my best core speed and with less voltage. They really made some changes from RF0403.


FSB vcore 1.45v after vdroop
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=442918 (http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=442918)


Core speed vcore 1.47v after vdroop
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=442923 (http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=442923)




E8500 w/ TU120E
Asus P5E, BIOS RF0410
4x1 Patriot PC29600
EVGA 8800 GTS 512
WD1500ADFD
Sony Ide CD/DVD Reader
Antec 500SP

Lsdmeasap
11-07-2008, 05:12 PM
I wish that Validator would show Voltages, anyone know why it does not? Surely this has been asked at their forum I would assume

Aleslammer
11-08-2008, 01:43 PM
Ive always wonder that too so I just went through 10 pages of post on their forum and this is what I found.

Including voltages in validations... - X86-secret.com Forums (http://forum.x86-secret.com/showthread.php?t=8018)

Lsdmeasap
11-08-2008, 04:06 PM
Well that does not say much! Maybe I will join up this week and ask again and see if a better answer would be given

Aleslammer
11-09-2008, 02:43 PM
Well I went sub 10s, not by much but it is under.

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo174/Aleslammer/Sub10sSmall.jpg

Lsdmeasap
11-09-2008, 08:05 PM
WOWZERS!


Is this on air? Maybe I do need to cram some voltage into my Xeon and see what it will do, I have not yet

Aleslammer
11-10-2008, 03:04 AM
Yep, on air, side panel removed with a floor fan on high window wide open all day while I was out, cold overcast day. Measured temp at floor, intake side of the fan 52f (11.1c). Normal clock cores 38c after the run, Normal room temp and clock with side panel on 44c, you can see the idle temps on this run in the bottom right side of the screenie

Wife banned me to the garage, forgot to put a blanket down on the bottom of the door, which happens to be right next to the thermostat, needles to say the rest of the house was a little toasty when I got home from my club's rendezvous last night.

E8500 w/ TU120E (Both Lapped)
Asus P5E, BIOS RF0410
4x1 Patriot PC29600
EVGA 8800 GTS 512
WD1500ADFD
Sony Ide CD/DVD Reader
Antec 500SP

ANZAC_ELITE
11-10-2008, 09:06 AM
nice score, lots of vcore though.

Those pesky wives can be a problem can't they, lol

I finally figured out on the weekend that my nb voltage was holding me back, should be 4.5GHz stable soon with a bit of luck, I achieved 4.25GHz 100% stable on the weekend (20 passes IntelBurnTest) at 1.275V

BongWizard
11-10-2008, 03:19 PM
nice OC on that 8500 dude!! and sub 10s... nice!

with the blackops and an e8600 you should be able to hit 4.85GHz+ on that thermalright 120... you'll need alot of voltage on it tho... and punch the MCH up a bit to get the FSB stable and it'll be flying!!

might clean up that first post so it only show best score for everyone

EDIT: only 4 people doin this... thats pretty sad... i wanted to see some serious competition and some intense tweaking!

Lsdmeasap
11-10-2008, 05:16 PM
HAHA! deep freezing the wife eh!

hondalover
01-05-2009, 10:48 AM
heres my results with e8400 and 2gb of crucial ballistix tracers at 4-4-4-12

Shadowk
05-22-2009, 12:51 AM
http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/2053/superpi1m.th.jpg (http://img194.imageshack.us/my.php?image=superpi1m.jpg)
http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/6358/cpugpuz.th.jpg (http://img38.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cpugpuz.jpg)

Salty
09-10-2009, 05:56 PM
http://home.exetel.com.au/seasalt/overclock/SuperPi_4219.jpg

D-an-W
09-14-2009, 02:55 PM
Running a 24hr OCCT atm so couldn't run the test just now but here are all my best scores from SuperPI...

Aleslammer
09-18-2009, 08:00 AM
Here's a shot of my at work box, 17.581, alot slower than I thought. wPrime is going to look good.

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo174/Aleslammer/th_Work1m.jpg (http://s373.photobucket.com/albums/oo174/Aleslammer/?action=view&current=Work1m.jpg)