PDA

View Full Version : Help me please :(



hugaum
06-10-2002, 06:07 AM
Well, I've installed the ADSL and the computer wich is connected to the modem everything works fine(icq,irc,http,...)
The other computer(client) wich is connect throught a LAN with the other the only stuff that works is the Internet Explorer and recently I started to use ICQ throught the port 13...
Please help cuz I've been looking everywhere for help :))

Some useful information:
Win98
Pentium 3
Great Speed Modem

Thanx :)
Note:If possible contact in ICQ 12868063 or post in the forum anyway... :cry:

outvit
06-10-2002, 07:00 AM
This LAN, does it have a router or just a hub? Can you give us some more information on this LAN's topology?

hugaum
06-10-2002, 07:53 AM
Sorry... :?:
The ADSL pc is connected in a hub :)




ADSL Pc Client Pc
(hub,modem,network card)------------------>(network card)



Thanx for the attention :thumb: :?:

outvit
06-10-2002, 09:30 PM
Sorry... :?:
The ADSL pc is connected in a hub :)




ADSL Pc Client Pc
(hub,modem,network card)------------------>(network card)



Thanx for the attention :thumb: :?:

Is these the only two PC's on the network? So it does all the things like browsing the internet except it cannot do something like playing a LAN Game? Do you have either a software or a hardware firewall installed?

hugaum
06-12-2002, 09:27 AM
sorry for the delay I've been busy...
Yes, they are the only pc's one connected with the other, me and my mate.
I basically just can browse and play LAN Games and see my mate computer stuff....
No there are not firewalls or other kind of stuff installed in any of the pcs.... :)

Thanx :)
Keep helping me pleaze..

Hugo

FA-MAS
06-13-2002, 01:58 PM
Lemme ask, how are you connecting. Is it a service that uses PPPoE or as long as the modem is sync'd you're on? Also which DSL modem (CPE) do you have?

hugaum
06-14-2002, 10:03 AM
It's a Great Speed modem(www.greatspeed.com) and the connections is PPPoe :)))

Thanx for helping me :)

FA-MAS
06-15-2002, 09:35 AM
it sounds like you have the it setup like this:

http://home.earthlink.net/~darrelhu/diaghram.jpg

If Computer 1 is the one connecting via a PPPoE Client, such as WinPoet or Enternet. To be honest that should not work. Computer 2 really shouldn't be able to do anything with the internet connection. I don't wanna say "luck" that it has, but that's basically it.

But if you set it up like this:

http://home.earthlink.net/~darrelhu/diaghram2.jpg

It will work so much better. Notice that Computer 1 has 2 ethernet cables coming into it. You will need 2 Ethernet cards in that computer. Because basically, you're turning Computer 1 into a Router. One NIC will get an IP from your ISP when you connect via PPPoE. And the other NIC will have an IP for your internal network and will be the gateway to the internet for the other computers.

That's easy enough to configure. After you have it setup physically like I showed you in the second picture. Install and configure internet connection sharing on Computer 1, make it the "Server".

then install and configre internet connection sharing on Computer 2. And you'll have no problems with passing any ports.

I'll see if I can find any good tutorials on Internet Connection Sharing.

Later

hugaum
06-18-2002, 10:45 AM
Thanx dude I got the second scheme that u showed me...
All I need now is how to get a connection share!I hope u guys keep helping me!!!!Thanx a lot man!!!!!
I'll find out more about sharing connections...

See ya and thanx again :bounce: :clap: :bounce: :clap:

Wiggo
06-18-2002, 11:12 AM
Are you using some type of internet sharing program? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

FA-MAS
06-18-2002, 12:42 PM
Do a search for Google for Internet Connection Sharing. It comes with Windows 98, and is so easy to set up. Basically, it's so easy I was able to help someone configure it over the phone without having worked with it before.

Actually, here's the exact page I used while I was on that call:
http://www.infinisource.com/techfiles/ics-install.html

Wiggo
06-18-2002, 01:26 PM
Actually no it doesn't come with 98 as it wasn't brought in till 98SE. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

FA-MAS
06-19-2002, 01:42 AM
You're right, I just spaced it.

hugaum
06-19-2002, 03:51 AM
no, actually I'm not using any kind of program for sharing connections... and I tried to search for it in google but all the text seemed to be very difficult no understand or not very clear... :drunk:

Thank you guys :thumb:

Keep helping me pleazeeee

hugaum
06-19-2002, 03:56 AM
"Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) is part of Windows 98 Second Edition (or Windows 2000), so you'll need either one of these operating systems to be able to install ICS. For more information about obtaining Windows 98 SE, see this document."


from http://www.infinisource.com/techfiles/ics-install.html

I'm getting sad! :cry:

Wiggo
06-19-2002, 04:09 AM
Well these two are recommended by those who don't use Microsoft's ICS software that's been available with all their operating systems since 98SE and they are WinGate (http://download.com.com/3000-2085-8821797.html) and WinProxy (http://download.com.com/3000-2085-9415965.html). A lot of people also use these even when they have ICS available to them but I've used ICS since I've been involved with computers and the internet so I couldn't really comment on them personally as to which is best or if there are any others. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

hugaum
06-19-2002, 04:11 AM
Actually I tried Wingate and I thought was a little difficult since I"m brasillian and my english is not so good...
I'll try WinProxy once...
Thanx dude...

See ya all

keep ehlping me :cry: :wave:

FA-MAS
06-19-2002, 08:19 AM
Yeah, exactly like Wiggo said. Once you've got one of those working, you're all set.

hugaum
06-19-2002, 08:53 AM
Sure thing... but the most difficult is set that stuff... suggestion are welcome :)

FA-MAS
06-19-2002, 09:22 AM
Actually, I would use WinGate. Here's a good walkthrough for installing and configuring it. http://www.deerfield.com/support/WinGate/kb/index.htm?a=1355