PDA

View Full Version : Best KT333 MB



TheCreator
06-14-2002, 10:25 AM
What is the Best KT333 motherboard that has the least problems and has integrated sound?

Wiggo
06-14-2002, 01:11 PM
I've used both the EPoX 8K3A+ and Gigabyte GA-7VRXP which I've found both very good though some others have had probs with the Gigabyte board but why I'm not sure. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

SegiY
06-17-2002, 09:31 AM
i have the soltek
it seems good, and it's a bit cheaper
But has no raid or USB 2.0
But that is compensated by the fact it's purple.

fragman
06-17-2002, 11:48 AM
My MSI KT3 Ultra runs nice and sweet. The KT3 Ultra-ARU also has 6 Channel audio onboard instead of the normal 2 channel.

samyamaha
06-29-2002, 10:51 PM
How about Abit KX7-333R ? It is also reliable and stable good for Overclocking :flames:

Andy
06-30-2002, 09:40 AM
if you've got the $ the Asus A7V333 is Definatly worth it IMO, but if your on a tighter budget, go for the Epox or the Gigabyte

Ehhe Yebeb
06-30-2002, 11:26 AM
I wouldnt go for the Asus board, apart from being a not so good overclocking board its a rip off. Gigabyte, hmm well the number of threads you read about problems with them should turn you off, if not go for it. Epox 8K3A(+) is also a good board, Soltek 75DRV5 is good aswell. There is no hands down best board, it all depends on what kind of application its going to have.

samyamaha
06-30-2002, 12:16 PM
What is the best Overclockable mobo ????:no:

Wiggo
06-30-2002, 01:07 PM
For all it's options I'd have to say the EPoX 8K3A/8K3A+ and I can testify to some very high overclocks with them. :devil:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Morgan_Lander
06-30-2002, 03:22 PM
If you want overclocking, the Epox 8K3A/+ or the Abit KX7-333 would be your best bet. I got burned by the 8K3A+ myself, so I'm a little wary of them, but I have had good luck in the Socket A portion of Abit's boards.

samyamaha
07-01-2002, 09:55 AM
I got myself Epox 8K3A, yesterday. Togather with Curcial DDRAM 256MB PC-2700. After Install.... Haven't test out for O/C yet. Now runing at default XP1800++ 266FSB :cackle:

tesna
07-02-2002, 02:57 AM
Mine is Gigabyte 7VRXP with XP 1800+ and 256MB PC 2700. I found this mobo quite good and stable. It has hardware onboard sound from creative chipset unlike other mobos that have software AC97 codecs. But I dont use them since I already have sound blaster live soundcard. It has onboard lan chip, usb 2.0, raid, but unfortunately no firewire port.

Nick
07-02-2002, 08:23 AM
Abit KX7-333, Epox 8K3A+ for performance and o/c and Soltek 75DRV5 if you want cheap but decent no frills action:flames:

JealousMidget
07-02-2002, 08:35 AM
I have been running my Epox 8K3A for a month or so and I love it. Very stable haven't had any real issues with it. Haven't pushed the O'C yet. I just set the FSB @ 150 and left it alone. Might get around to boosting later, but just enjoying being able to play for a while.

JM :afro:

samyamaha
07-02-2002, 10:15 AM
I have been running my Epox 8K3A for a month or so and I love it. Very stable haven't had any real issues with it. Haven't pushed the O'C yet. I just set the FSB @ 150 and left it alone. Might get around to boosting later, but just enjoying being able to play for a while.

JM :afro:

What is your default FSB ?? As mine i change on board jumper to 133MHZ. It auto boot up as 266 FSB. Are your's same as me ?:wave:

Nick
07-02-2002, 10:17 AM
The XP's FSB is DDR -> 133Mhz DDR FSB = 266Mhz

Same with Intel, except the P4 is Quad pumped :cool:

samyamaha
07-02-2002, 10:48 AM
The XP's FSB is DDR -> 133Mhz DDR FSB = 266Mhz

Same with Intel, except the P4 is Quad pumped :cool:

I see, Thank you.

FLaCo
07-02-2002, 11:01 AM
Obviously i have a ABIT-KX7333 and is a beauty so far...i have mine running 150 FSB...Thanks to all my peeps at Tweaktown!

Though it seems kinda late for suggestions ...seems like you got yourself an Epox...heard they are good stuff:thumb:

Wiggo
07-02-2002, 11:25 AM
The thing that makes the EPoX's just that bit better than the Abit's is the higher voltage options. :devil:
<center>:cheers:</center>

FLaCo
07-02-2002, 11:32 AM
Very True..WiGGo...forgive me? hehe:cheers:

Up to 1.95 on the Epox right?

samyamaha
07-02-2002, 11:57 AM
What is the best Speed or FSB to tune my Epox Epox 8K3A. How show the way man......


"Glory to Germany"

Wiggo
07-02-2002, 01:00 PM
If you unlock the CPU and lower the multiplier but get the FSB up to 166MHz where the next multiplier cuts in then everything really goes sweet then just go up from there. :devil:
Flaco 2.2v is the upper limit of the core setting. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Morgan_Lander
07-02-2002, 02:53 PM
Yeah, the Epox has one helluva Vcore option on the 8K3A+. As one fellow said "don't go there without watercooling, son."

SegiY
07-04-2002, 10:23 AM
I have not overclocked with my soltek yet, but i will once i get my corsair XMS ram, it looks like it has good overclocking capabilaties though, i don't know what the vcore goes up to but it's a fairbit i think??? also you can go in increments of i in the FSB
Or if you don't feel like messing around you can use the red storm overclocking which is built into the bios.
+ it has ABS II (anti burn sheild) so if it gets to hot from within the core it shuts off :D

samyamaha
07-04-2002, 11:21 PM
Obviously i have a ABIT-KX7333 and is a beauty so far...i have mine running 150 FSB...Thanks to all my peeps at Tweaktown!

Though it seems kinda late for suggestions ...seems like you got yourself an Epox...heard they are good stuff:thumb:

If you overclock to FSB150, How much voltage you need ? advise .....

Wiggo
07-05-2002, 12:14 AM
That's very hard to say as some will not require much or any increase where others will need a lot the only thing to do is just to see how yours goes and adjust in small amounts, if necessary, till you have a stable system. There is no exact formula to work to other than just trial and error. One person with the exact same hardware setup may only need a 0.1v increase where you may need a 0.7v increase or around the other way. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

HackofDestruct
07-10-2002, 05:14 AM
what about that Abit AT7 i hasve heard its a great board does anybody got anything bad about it

Andy
07-10-2002, 09:14 AM
i personally don't like that board - because it is "legacy free" meaning it had no serial, parallel and ps/2 ports, so unless you already have a usb keyboard and mouse, your going to have to buy them if you upgrade to this motherboard.

HackofDestruct
07-10-2002, 09:46 AM
I don't care about the serial or paralell. when was the last time you used the serial or the paralell. my printer is usb and the keyboard doesn't bother me. so is it a good board

Andy
07-10-2002, 09:58 AM
well my printer is parallel, and i have built an infra red reciever that uses the serial port and my keyboard is ps2, my mouse is ps2 and usb, but i still use it as ps2

HackofDestruct
07-10-2002, 10:07 AM
and that would be why now that is you but for my situation would it be practical to get the board

Wiggo
07-10-2002, 10:18 AM
Practical for some but not for others. I also come into the "others" catagory. It's a choice for the individual to make for themselves. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

HackofDestruct
07-10-2002, 10:24 AM
ok then comes what my real question was is it a good board for performance

Wiggo
07-10-2002, 10:30 AM
I'll back the EPoX 8K3A/+ boards. ;)
:beer: :beer: :beer:

FLaCo
07-10-2002, 12:30 PM
ABIt and for me (Epox i have never tried but heard very good things about them)...anyhow i made a small increase i believe it is 1.80 voltage. Just try what Wiggo Mentioned pump it up (FSB) until its unstable..then bump the voltage just a bit to see if it stabilized. If nothing happens with voltage drop the FSB a bit lower, ETc ETc...

SEGIY, you changed your mind on the Vo|Can0 7+?: peace2:

samyamaha
07-10-2002, 12:37 PM
ABIt and for me (Epox i have never tried but heard very good things about them)...anyhow i made a small increase i believe it is 1.80 voltage. Just try what Wiggo Mentioned pump it up (FSB) until its unstable..then bump the voltage just a bit to see if it stabilized. If nothing happens with voltage drop the FSB a bit lower, ETc ETc...

SEGIY, you changed your mind on the Vo|Can0 7+?: peace2:

Any other better recomenedation of HSF ?

FLaCo
07-11-2002, 08:19 AM
Can't tell you of any other but i heard the new XMS-800 is real good...haven't seen it or tried it tho.

HackofDestruct
07-11-2002, 12:35 PM
flaco are you sastisfied by your mobo

FLaCo
07-12-2002, 12:50 AM
I am very satisfied with my Abit for now...its a AT7 with legacy for people who like the to keep the old stuff around. Its has alot of room for upgrades with 6 PCI slots(AT7 has 3 PCI slots), and 4 DIMM slots (most mobos only have 3 DIMMs). Everything has a nice location to it (ide channels, power, etc.). Its 50USD cheaper then the AT7 and a few bucks cheaper than the ASUS A7V333. I was originally thinking of going with ASUS but then i read on it in these forums and many people were having problem with them (except ANDY). The idea of choosing what sound card I want, what NIC i want and having PCI slots to spare is pretty cool to me. Its also seems really stable at 150 FSB (1.88). Oh, and it has a cool lil fan for the chipset.

HackofDestruct
07-12-2002, 01:53 AM
well thanks for that cuz that makes the board seem great

FLaCo
07-12-2002, 08:50 AM
NO problem man...anytime...i think the motherboard is a bad ass one...and alot of people as you can see on this thread alone have EPoX which many claim also kicks ass. I think that i am the only one in these forums with this mobo. I dunno if Nick got his...

Andy
07-12-2002, 11:24 AM
I was originally thinking of going with ASUS but then i read on it in these forums and many people were having problem with them (except ANDY)
now aren't i special :D

Beefy
07-12-2002, 11:47 AM
now aren't i special :D

no, you're spechl.. :)

Andy
07-12-2002, 03:08 PM
well ner :p

Ehhe Yebeb
07-12-2002, 03:14 PM
Well the AT7 has some extra junk that the KX7 doesnt have like onboard firewire

Ehhe Yebeb
07-12-2002, 03:16 PM
The AT7 also has 6 IDE channels including Four Raid Channels if you want to connect 8 HDD;s in raid

FLaCo
07-13-2002, 11:44 PM
Thats right i forgot to mention that...: peace2:

Soverign
07-14-2002, 12:02 AM
ok I have tested around 4-5 boards so far in the KT333 stages

I recommend EPoX 8K3A+, Chaintech Apogee, ABIT AT7 (if you have the ability to go legacy free)

they are some of the best that i have tested

I would recommend Gigabyte GA-7VRXP but if you get hte wrong revision of this board you are in for a nightmare

pcmkr
07-25-2002, 09:27 PM
Yea, I got an EPoX and so far it hasn't given me any trouble. :) I'm part of the bigger crowd I think:p

Wiggo
07-26-2002, 07:16 AM
I've never had any trouble with EPoX boards and they're the best overclockers that I've found especially for the price. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

samyamaha
07-28-2002, 01:54 PM
Can EPOX 8K3A fit AX7 HSF ??

Wiggo
07-28-2002, 02:39 PM
Sorry but I can't help ya there as I've never used that heatsink. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

SegiY
08-01-2002, 12:26 PM
SEGIY, you changed your mind on the Vo|Can0 7+?

No just ran out of money :(
+new burner :D (16x10x40x was FAR too slow :p )

HAMMER666
08-18-2002, 11:26 PM
Hi....great site!:)

I took the AV333 back great performance...short on features...but the Raid (Promise is too slow..64k buffer)
I want for DV Editing-Raid................

I am getting A7T and PC3200 tommorow.......

_____________________

LianLi PC70 - Enermax 550w "BlueDiamond"
Asus A7M266 Rev1007a - stock
XP [email protected] retail/boxed HSF ...."STILL TAPED!!"
Nanya 512mb PC2100 CL2.5 (set 2.2.2) thermaltake spreaders

Seagate Barracuda IV's - 2 x40G
Seagate Barracuda IV - 1 x 80G
Yamaha 40x16x10
Pioneer 16xslotDVD digital out
3.5" floppy

Leadtek 250 ultraTD - MyVivo
Creative Platinum 5.1
Belkin 3port firewire

Netcomm roadster II USB modem
Kouwell 6port USB1.1 hub

HP5300c scanner - USB
HP 710c printer - 25pin

Logitech iTouch remote K/B and mouse - PS/2
Logitech Momo - USB

Soundworks DTT-3500
Sony Headphones

3DMark 2001SE Default
------------------------------
10,216 high LOD
10,450 low LOD
11,400 highest

SQ-XcON S13
09-13-2002, 12:22 PM
NO problem man...anytime...i think the motherboard is a bad ass one...and alot of people as you can see on this thread alone have EPoX which many claim also kicks ass. I think that i am the only one in these forums with this mobo. I dunno if Nick got his...

You're not the only one now, Flaco! :thumb: I am just in love with this board. Like I said in my other posts, this board just goes together like hand in glove with the amd xp1600 (agoia y).
I ran stable at 175MHz fsb and Prime95 ran for 12 hours @ 46c.

I know I can go higher but currently I lowered the fsb to 169MHz cuz that way it goes best when overclocking my video card. =)

Now I can't wait to unlock this chip! Take care all!