No announcement yet.

Need help in the correct oc process....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help in the correct oc process....

for my SOYO Dragon Plus! mb and Athlon XP 1800+. I know how to oc it in the BIOS but I just want some assurance from you pros out there. What are the recommendations for upping the fsb and lowering the multipliers, etc? Please help I am a newb but I also want a stable and reliable system. My goal is running my system at 1.7 ghz. Is that possible? Thanks. Man, computers are like cars...=)

Well, first, if you want to drop the multiplier, you'll need to unlock the L1 bridges.

As for the OC goal, it all depends on the chip. Maybe so, maybe no.

Comment

I have my 1800+ running at 2100+ with a 150MHz FSB and no multiplier adjustments and with only a slight core voltage increase though I'm running PC2700 memory. :smokin:
      <center>:cheers:</center>

Comment

Do you really need to lower the multipliers to overclock the 1800 on the soyo dragon plus? Right now I have mine at 143mhz fsb and a slight increase in the vcore. Does it also matter what kind of memory you have also? One more thing, I set my dram clock to 133 from 100, is that ok? Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks guys.

Comment

No you don't need to unless you want to use even higher FSB speeds. Though in some cases good high speed memory alone will usually do that anyway. :smokin:

Comment

Thank you for your input Wiggo. Can you explain a little about the dram clock settings? I have it on 133 from 100. My vcore is set +0.25 degrees above normal. Just wanna be cautious. Excuse me for my noobness. Thanks

Comment