PDA

View Full Version : Hardware T&L



digi_rage
06-24-2002, 03:02 AM
I have recently purchased Spider-man: The movie PC game. After installing the game and running it the message, "This game requires a Hardware T&L graphics card" comes up. After doing some looking around I learnt more about Hardware Transform and Lighting. Although unless I buy a new graphics card I cannot overcome this problem, according to all the websites.

Is there any way to tweak or trick the computer or game into thinking I have a Hardware T&L graphics card, so I can play this game.

Ryan
(PLEASE HELP!!)

Morgan_Lander
06-24-2002, 04:21 AM
Nope, can't be done. Even if ya do, it sounds like you have some integrated graphics or some fairly old card without T and L. You can pick up a cheap GeForce 2 MX for around $50 on-line and that would give you the T&L ya need.

Wiggo
06-24-2002, 08:54 AM
What make/type/details is your computer? Does it have an AGP slot? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

digi_rage
06-24-2002, 04:50 PM
Yes I do have an agp slot with a ATI Rage Fury in it.

NEC DIRECTION
PIII 650
ATI Rage Fury 32mb AGP
512mb RAM
Creative Soundblaster 1024 live

Morgan_Lander
06-24-2002, 05:19 PM
Go buy a GeForce 2 MX or whatever GeForce you can afford. I don't think you'll really be able to make good use of a GeForce 4 Ti4600 with that rig, but something like a GF2 MX should be appropriate.

digi_rage
06-24-2002, 05:49 PM
I have found an ATI Radeon 8500 128mb RAM. Does this have hardware t&l and what is this card like?

Ryan

Darthtanion
06-24-2002, 08:57 PM
Yes it has Hardware T&L and yes it is a good video card. The Radeon 8500 is the big boy of ATi and will even support DirectX 8.1 features. But make sure of two things before you go buy this card...

1- That your system meets the minimum system requirements;
2- That your AGP bus supports the Radeon AGP rating (2x/4x).

digi_rage
06-24-2002, 11:11 PM
To all you people that have helped. Thanks very much!!

Ryan