Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hope i can get some good info here, Gigabyte Extreme X58...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hope i can get some good info here, Gigabyte Extreme X58...

Ok, heres the thing...all this new tech i know nothing about, the basics but thats it. Been out of the pc loop for a long time and just built this rig about a week ago. Most people are so vague on message boards it seems and i just hope i can get some thorough info to help out here, because im just a noob to all the new tech.

Im running an i7, gigabyte extreme x58 and 6gb of 1600 ddr3, also running vista 64.

I just noticed the little LED in the upper right corner of my cpu on the board occasionally hitting green, and then would blink a bit sometimes.

Everything has seemd to be fine, now i added a new t240hd monitor yesterday and grabbed a few new windows updates.

Last night i was playing WoW with 2 accounts and noticed those green lights steadily on and then blinking occasionally alot more than normal...at least from what ive gathered.

Then today i was playing neverwinter nights 2, and again the green light was on...but it actually touched red and blinked red a few times.

I grabbed one of those temp programs, realtemp...and my temps just fluxuated quick according to that, and while having up 2 WoW accounts the temps were just showing in the 70s and 80s on core 0 and 2, and 1 and 3 were showing in the 60s...

But the catch is....im not feeling heat in my case really nor is the heatsink hot at all, everything is quite cool.

Should i be concerned here, is this just a case of temp sensors being off maybe? Whats normal and what isnt, i just cant seem to get a straight answer....im not OCing or anything, all is stock and everything does run....but it just seems my mobo is indicating heat when there really isnt any heat....unless that green light above the cpu on the board isnt for heat.