PDA

View Full Version : P2 300 Oclocking



ikey
07-05-2002, 02:00 PM
I got a p2 300 and an aopen ax6b here..

Just need advice on how much i can oclock this and possibly how

well i know how but just tell us around how much :D

Wiggo
07-05-2002, 02:55 PM
You have a very limited chance of overclocking that system via the FSB which is done thru the BIOS under "Chipset Features Setup". if you do get the 83 or 100MHz FSB to work don't forget to change the FSB divider jumper on the board. Consult your motherboard manual or download one from AOpen for more details.
Good luck. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

fragman
07-05-2002, 05:57 PM
A better than stock heatsink might also help. The Thermaltake Golden Orb fans designed for the Slot A Athlon's will fit a P2 just fine.

chisholm
07-05-2002, 06:04 PM
lol y would u bother o/c a pentium2? no point wasting money on a new HSF;)

zeradul
07-06-2002, 07:53 AM
That is a good question...

Wiggo
07-06-2002, 09:24 AM
Everyone has to learn somewhere not matter what it's with. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

wwilliam54
07-13-2002, 12:38 PM
I got a nice performance boost going from 233 to 266 on my P2
course thats with a dual :devil:

BTW if the Bios has an option to diasble the L2 cache
You should try to top it out like that
often times the L2 is the limiting factor
but I wouldnt do it unless I got over 450 or so

and dont forget
the 233-300 are usually unlocked

chisholm
07-13-2002, 05:37 PM
lol i think dsiabling ur L2 cache will half your fpu performance:D

wwilliam54
07-14-2002, 02:53 AM
lol i think dsiabling ur L2 cache will half your fpu performance:D

But he could O/C higher :D

chisholm
07-14-2002, 10:21 AM
lol yea but wat's the point in o/c if your performance is goign down?:p
unless of course u just like big numbers:D

wwilliam54
07-15-2002, 01:10 PM
lol yea but wat's the point in o/c if your performance is goign down?:p
unless of course u just like big numbers:D

This is a P2 were talking about here : party ha

chisholm
07-15-2002, 05:49 PM
lol oops good point:p