Funnel Cooling Idea... good or not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Funnel Cooling Idea... good or not?

According to science (chemistry of gases)... If you increase pressure and then release the air... it will be cold, because when molecules are relieved of pressure they absorb heat(energy, in the form of kinetic energy) and move faster... so here is a diagram that I am proposing... Its a funnel cooling idea.... what do you guys think?

I have just been thinking about it for the last two days...

Look at diagram carefully...

DONE IN MS_PAINT! :) I GOT SKILLZZZZ!!!

i'm not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination but i'm pretty sure that's how most air conditioners work (with compressors).:rolleyes:
    but the thing is, at some point, you'll need to dissipate that heat. if you want that cold air moving into the case, you'll have to make an outside part that gets really hot. so basically in an ideal setting, however much you cool the air going inside is how much you'll have to heat up the air outside. it's a great idea that i'm sure could be pretty cool with some tweaking. imagine that...a portable ac unit for every computer case. hah. :laugh:

Comment

Not a bad idea but something will probably miss out on some airflow. :smokin:
      <center>:cheers:</center>

Comment

Many heatsink manufacturers have attempted to make their designs with this theory in mind, but they normally fail to produce a product with any significant gains. The reason behind this failure is the turbulence that is caused when you force the airflow into a smaller pathway. This turbulence slows down the airflow rate, so you lose the added benefit of your cooler air temperatures.