Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I O'C a Gateway P3 600mhz desktop PC

Hi,
    Im new to overclocking and would like any help I can get to overclock my computer. I am currently using a stock Gateway Performance Series desktop computer running at 600mhz with a P3. It has 320mb of ram and a 16mb Nvidia video card. Some additional specs are 16x dvd-rom drive, a sony spressa 4x4x6 external usb connected cdrw drive, it has phenoix bios I am unsure what version I will have to check later, 100mhz fsb, and a 10gb Quantum Fireball EIDE HD. I would apreciate any help I can get to overclock my PC.

Being a "Name" brand PC I doubt very much that the motherboard has the ability to to adjust the FSB. Sorry :(
    <center>:cheers:</center>

Comment

I'm going to have to side with Wiggo.
      I have looked into specs on several Gateway systems from time to time. The simple truth is, they cut a lot of corners in production components to keep costs to the consumer down and profits up.
      I feel reasonably certain it is safe to say your RAM is operating at 66Mhz -- every system I have ever looked at by them always used cheaper shortcuts like this for example.

That doesn't mean it's bad I suppose, I know a lot of folks who use Gateways (Check where it says I'm located, under my AV -- they assemble them here in this state.)
      But when you have advanced in needs/abilities enough to start tweaking, it is time to move on and build another system.

I'm not trying to be harsh, I just want to point out the undeniable facts of the manufacturing process that is used by Gateway and nearly every manufacture of "store-bought" PC's.
      Their bread and butter is low cost PC's sold to the typical consumer.
      There are companies that build for performance, such as Falcon Northwest for instance. If you compare prices you will see that there is about 4X the difference in price.