PDA

View Full Version : Better to run at 147 or 150?



MySTiCuSS
07-15-2002, 06:37 PM
What is better to run at a fsb of 147 or 150? Better performance? Better for my hardware?
Greets
MySTiCuSS :p

Wiggo
07-15-2002, 10:08 PM
Good to see ya back MySTiCuSS.
150 should give you better performance if ya can keep it stable but really both are out of spec for ya hardware but I can't see that there would be much between either. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

wwilliam54
07-16-2002, 02:09 PM
On a K7S5A 150 is much better
at this FSB it changes dividers
so the PCI is ~30mhz
at 147 the PCI is ~37 mhz
besides that 6 mhz extra on the ram

Wiggo
07-16-2002, 03:23 PM
Never much bothered checkin' if those BIOS' had an extra divider but those boards are very finicky so I leave the one here stock. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

wwilliam54
07-17-2002, 12:29 AM
I had a K7S5A with a duron 650
It ran at 1200core 150 FSB
course that was with a vmod
2.4vcore :D
twas beutiful...

till the voltage regulator blew after a few months
:flames:

Wiggo
07-17-2002, 12:35 AM
Ok then he may get better performance from the 147MHz as the AGP and PCI buses are workin' that bit harder than runnin' below spec. :smokin:
MySTiCuSS what are your results between the two settings with Sandra and 3DMark 2001SE? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

wwilliam54
07-17-2002, 04:00 AM
Then again if he has a crap HD it might make more errors and have to reread more at 150

yeah
i think you need to run sandra at both to see which is faster
and i doubt 36 mhz is gonna hurt you hardware much at all

chisholm
07-17-2002, 09:47 AM
lol 2.4V?
and u wonder y the voltage regulators exploded:p
:bounce: :bounce2: :bounce: :bounce2:

wwilliam54
07-17-2002, 01:23 PM
:flames:
actually
it was my fualt
I turned to potentiometer the wrong way one day
oh well
i was worth the time i had it seeing as the board cost 60$

chisholm
07-17-2002, 07:19 PM
oh ic...lol
well frying a $60 mobo is better than frying an xp2000 that cos t me 600 bucks
:bounce: :bounce2: :bounce:

Wiggo
07-17-2002, 07:42 PM
Next time ya unlock one make sure that all those fine wires are pushed back down after cleanin' the pits out (magnifyin' glass is helpful). :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

chisholm
07-18-2002, 09:06 AM
lol to this do it;s still a puzzle how the poor thing died...i'm pretti sure the unlocking job i did was ok....but there's no physical damage anywhere on the cpu....maybe one of these days i'll give it another go...i have a felling about it this time:D

samyamaha
07-29-2002, 12:26 PM
lol to this do it;s still a puzzle how the poor thing died...i'm pretti sure the unlocking job i did was ok....but there's no physical damage anywhere on the cpu....maybe one of these days i'll give it another go...i have a felling about it this time:D


What is your Temp. after overclock to 1.7ghz... As i also overclock to 148*11.50 but temp at 55c to 57c..

Wiggo
07-29-2002, 12:38 PM
What sort of HSF are ya usin' as I can keep mine below 50c @ 1730MHz with the Volcano 7+ on medium fan speed? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

chisholm
07-29-2002, 04:19 PM
the highest load temp i;ve seen recently is 41....
although that's with an mcx462 and delta...soon to be a SLK800 with a quieter fan :D

Wiggo
07-29-2002, 04:33 PM
Don't forget that 120mm beast ya have also blownin' down on the HSF as well. :rolleyes2
<center>:cheers:</center>

MySTiCuSS
08-01-2002, 04:12 AM
I got a better score with 3dmark with 147. Only my cpu scores are better with 150. So i think i stick with 147, it nows runs perfectly for 1 week! :cantfocus

chisholm
08-02-2002, 04:26 PM
Don't forget that 120mm beast ya have also blownin' down on the HSF as well. :rolleyes2
<center>:cheers:</center>

lol yea tru:)