PDA

View Full Version : Swann.....chip?



pdv
07-16-2002, 11:06 AM
I have a swann speed demon modem
& am trying to find out what chip they have
and there performance

model E210

thanx

Mr.Tweak
07-16-2002, 12:01 PM
Look here:

http://www.swann.com.au/products/ausmenu.htm

fragman
07-16-2002, 12:03 PM
There are a couple of models depending on whether it is a blue or red one.
Here's a link to the Swann product page:

http://www.swann.com.au/products/modems/s_demon/s_demon.htm

pdv
07-16-2002, 12:54 PM
Visited swann
solid red case of modem = rockwell .....i havent seen any of these

Translucent case grey $ RED = ambient chipset

WHAT is the diffrence in preformance between a ambient chip set compared to rockwell
Clever packaging i thought i was getting the rockwell :(

fragman
07-16-2002, 01:49 PM
The rockwell ones were the early models, they changed to ambient chips with the translucent red and then the blue/grey. I don't think there's any real performance difference. Swann have apparently optimised the firmware if the Speed Demon for Internet use, which makes them run well on the net but I have had major issues running them modem to modem like PC Anywhere.

pdv
07-16-2002, 03:35 PM
ambient........rockwell
is ambient a fancy way of saying generic
"ambient" how do you relate this term to a modem chip?
can i upgrade my firmware as my modem is a few years old
and no CD ect. came with mine

Albinus
07-17-2002, 05:20 PM
Ambient Technologies is a spin-off of Intel Corporation.

My friend has a Swann NetSlider II with an Ambient chipset, and it connects very nicely to his ISP (PowerUp) at 49,333bps. Unfortunately, no amount of tweaking could coax this modem to work with OptusNet. The modem did the usual handshaking sequence, tried v.90, then v.34 etc, but failed to connect on all the times I tried. Could it be something to do with the Cisco equipment that Optus use? :?:

From what I can gather, the Ambient chips these days use no firmware - similar to the Conexant HCF modems, that are hardware based but the firmware is resident in memory instead of burned in ROM.

Oh - and it would be very unlikely you would get a Rockwell branded modem these days - they changed their modem division's name to Conexant about 3 years ago :)

pdv
07-17-2002, 08:38 PM
thankx Albinus

yes my Speed Demon tries hard but poor line quality & 7 k's
from the exchange
modem 14k to 17kbps average
throughput 1750 to 1950Bps av. so sloooooooow

i have had my modem a long time
i thought i was purchasing the Rockwell chip
[SOLID RED= Rockwell TRANSLUCENT RED= ambient
just looked solid reb on the box
clever marketing dosnt always pay off
i will be purchasing another modem but
it Wont be a SWANN even though i am satisfied with it performance per $

:shoot3: Hel$rtas lines & noisey exchange floors :mad:

Wiggo
07-17-2002, 08:47 PM
It just may pay ya to invest in a WOOMERA then. ;)
:beer: :beer: :beer:

pdv
07-17-2002, 09:14 PM
:D :D Yes i was all set to lay out the Big $$ for a
Woomera & the vendor said he had been getting similar
results with the Xtreama $120 v $280 & he had both in stock.
Had mad up my mind, now i gotta check out Xtreama

pdv

Wiggo
07-17-2002, 09:41 PM
I havn't heard of that one but then with the introduction of broadband here the reviewing of dailup modems seems to have ceased which is a bit of a shame as a lot of ppl are still restricted to dailup connections. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Albinus
07-18-2002, 05:18 PM
pdv, how far are you from your phone exchange (in kilometres obviously)? I should be able to figure out a rough guide as to what connection speed you should expect. One of my friends who lives about 16KM out of Boonah gets 19,200bps with his Diamond Supra Express, replaced it with a Maestro Woomera and it connects at 33,600bps, with far fewer dropouts. That ain't a bad speed boost - if time is important to you plunk down the $$$ for a Woomera - they rock on noisy lines :thumb:

pdv
07-18-2002, 05:26 PM
Albinus
I am 7.5 k's from the exchange

Albinus
07-18-2002, 05:35 PM
7.5KM? You should be getting in the vicinity of just under 28,800bps without resorting to a Woomera modem - methinks that Tel$tra has pairgained your line with your neighbour (quite common in regional areas to save rolling out copper) - a pairgained line at 7.5KM would net about 16Kbps by my calculations, which seems what you are getting now.

Is your phone line running near an electric fence? These are a major killer of data in the bush. Anyway here's the Australian government's site on dialup speeds and tips on improving speed and reliability:

http://www.iapselfhelp.com/customer/index.cfm

They aim for you to acheive 19.2Kbps... what a joke (thanks to Telstra's crummy lines in your area)