PDA

View Full Version : pegas.usb

FrodgE
12-17-2001, 10:01 AM
Ok, before I start rambling I'll let you all in on the fact that I'm new to linux and have pretty much no idea what going on ! Be prepared for a dumb arse question ! :cackle:

I recently installed redhat 7.2 with both KDE and Gnome (still to decide which is better). Now I'm trying to figure out how to install my pegas.usb chipset based modem (aztech um9800). I've downloaded rpm's from aztech but am a little unsure how to install them, and then how to use the modem.

I think I've got the rpm's installed :?: :?: but I dunno... The hardware browser says the modem is there (listed under system devices I think) but it can't find it when I try to configure a net connection.

So, how do you install rpm drivers ? And how do you install usb devices, such as a modem. Dumb arse question I know but if you can gimme a url (that's useful) or some hints / tips I'd be most greatfull.

Thanks !

:confused: :hammer:

Bern
12-18-2001, 09:14 PM
Linux USB info,
Linux-USB project: http://www.linux-usb.org
Linux USB Guide: http://linux-usb.sourceforge.net
Linux-USB device overview (working devices and drivers): http://www.qbik.ch/usb/devices/

[edit]This particular page has information you will need : http://www.linux-usb.org/USB-guide/x332.html
And have a look at /usr/src/linux*/Documentation/usb/acm.txt, if you don't have anything in /usr/src/linux* you'll have to install the kernel src rpm's from your RedHat cd's.

Bern
12-18-2001, 10:10 PM
Right this next link seems to have some info on getting this modem going,
http://www.modem-help.freeserve.co.uk/help/webboy.html#winmodem

FrodgE
12-19-2001, 10:12 PM
And have a look at /usr/src/linux*/Documentation/usb/acm.txt, if you don't have anything in /usr/src/linux* you'll have to install the kernel src rpm's from your RedHat cd's.