Overclocking Athlon XP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overclocking Athlon XP

I'm new to overclocking. I have a few questions regarding overclocking.

1) I saw many people unlocked their Athlon XP CPU, and then set the cpu with a lower multiplier and increased the FSB. Is it true that increasing the multiplier will result an extremely hot and unstable system? But if I set the cpu multiplier higher and increase the FSB a little bit, wouldn't it perform better and more stable since I will not overclock the AGP and PCI buses too much?

2) I saw some articles say that AMD Athlon XP 1600-1900 share the same core. They should be identical to each other except their locked multipliers. If a person can overclocked a unlocked Athlon XP 1600 to Athlon XP 1900, then why would that person buy a AMD Athlon XP 1900 for overclocking? I'm curious.

3) If I want to overclock an unlocked Athlon XP 1900(1.6 GHz) to 2000MHz. What motherboard, cpu heatsink, and RAM should I use? I am thinking of getting a ABIT KX7-333R motherboard, Thermaltake Volcano 7+, and 512 MB Xtreme DDR PC2700. And what VCore and VMem should I use for this setup?

4) What is the Athlon XP stepping(AGOIA)? Where can I buy a AGOIA cpu?

Please give me any comments/suggestions. Thanks! :hammer:

1/ Athlons don't really have the headroom that they use to to bother raisin' the multiplier but with the better KT333 based motherboards there's another divider at 166MHz (eg: Epox 8K3A/+) which is a good reason to lower it plus putting the strain of overclocking over the whole system is better than just on the CPU. ;)

2/ AMD tests the cores after they're built and determines which speed the core is stable which is where they lock it at for warranty and stability reasons. My 1800+ is running at 2100+ very easily though. :D