PDA

View Full Version : does anyone..



aznx
07-24-2002, 10:10 PM
does anyone wonder ever how high their hd temps are and if the hd ever overheats? how hot are your hds?

brand:
temp:
time:
cooling:

-

brand: seagate barracuda iv 80 gig
temp: 45 degrees c
time: hour and a half
cooling: none

HackofDestruct
07-25-2002, 04:13 AM
well my 40 gigger was like 120 and that is way to hot normal and max is like 110 F but then i got an hdd cooler and the thing dropped big time in temp like to 90 degrees F.my seagate 80gig runs really cold oh yeah both drives are 7200rpm

zeradul
07-25-2002, 05:39 AM
Well, I once had a 7200 rpm WD without any cooling (3 years ago before I knew HD's could create heat) It was in my basement at the time, (68 degrees) and after a Windows install, it was borderline too hot to touch, I am going to estimate 130 F. Since then I have always had circulation passing through my hard drive areas.

Now with even just a minute amount of circulation, my HD stays around 80-82F in a 70F room.

aznx
07-25-2002, 05:57 AM
hmm...maybe i should get a fan for it

FLaCo
07-25-2002, 08:21 AM
Vantec makes some nice heatsinks real cheap to....comes with dual fans and get screwed onto the bottom of the HDD.

ReSpAwN DeMoN
07-26-2002, 12:20 PM
How do you find out the temp of your HD I wanna find out the temp of my ol' so succesful deathstar.

aznx
07-26-2002, 12:24 PM
well, my seagate has a tempature probe built in, dunno about the ibms, try a hd temp utility or sandra

zeradul
07-26-2002, 07:41 PM
I use a digital doc probe to measure mine...

sKuLLsHoT
07-28-2002, 10:07 PM
IBMs have built in probes, but u need the IBM dos utils to access the readings... AFAIK

aznx
07-29-2002, 02:13 AM
IBMS...sadness, sandra can't detect the probes?

sKuLLsHoT
07-29-2002, 08:32 AM
not that i have found, no windows utilities seem to be able to see the probes...

best i could come by was a util that monitored the HDD health using S.M.A.R.T. capabilities of the IBM drives, fat lot of good that was, coz i had that util runnin and the day b4 my 45Gb drive died, it said the HDD was 100% healthy!

ReSpAwN DeMoN
07-29-2002, 08:40 AM
I'm gonna search for the util I guess on the IBM website? And that does it I've heard far to many things negative about IBM drives. I guess its the price to pay for the faster drive? Anyway my next drive I'm gonna get a WD special addition. Then again that's if there is a next drive I'm still using just over half of mine.

Beefy
07-29-2002, 09:18 AM
lately, my case has been heating up to 47C (CPU is hitting mid 50's...) and my HDD it very hot to the touch.. Probably not the best thing. It's a serious airflow problem in my case when the sides are on. I've got a panel open at the front, but that doesn't seem to help much.. What I'd give for a new case.. :) Guess I'll have to take the sides off again.

But yeah, my HDD's get very very hot, and still seem to work ok.

sKuLLsHoT
07-30-2002, 09:28 AM
Beefy wants my DTK don't u...

I never had airflow issues with it!

Beefy
07-30-2002, 09:35 AM
your what?

sKuLLsHoT
07-31-2002, 08:32 AM
my current case - u've seen it.

Cooler Master ATC110 here i come...

Beefy
07-31-2002, 09:35 AM
oh.. that.. If you're getting rid of it I'll take it

sKuLLsHoT
08-01-2002, 01:21 PM
getting rid of it!?!? HAHA! with all the love that went into that case, unless u r offering $250 (PSUs inc) theres no way im parting with it... :P

drpeterbright
08-07-2002, 02:56 AM
:hammer:

Just put more fans in. You can't be too cool.

:cool:

HackofDestruct
08-16-2002, 06:25 AM
i found a prog call HDDTemp that m,easure the Hard Drive tempit did good too

sKuLLsHoT
08-19-2002, 08:29 AM
care to post a link to such an app?

Mr. C
08-19-2002, 08:34 AM
How do you find out the temp of your HD I wanna find out the temp of my ol' so succesful deathstar.
I just use a digital indoor/outdoor thermometer. About $9 and you can place the external probe wherever you want to keep tabs on ATM.

sKuLLsHoT
08-20-2002, 08:34 AM
This is probably the Application that people are looking for, Freeware, all you need is a SMART enabled mobo and HD and thermal probing support in the HD :D simple.

http://www.hddtemperature.com/

ReSpAwN DeMoN
08-20-2002, 09:07 AM
wow ausome thank you thank you thank you!!! It seems my hard drive is currently running at 35C (95F) Is this healthy for a deathstar? Or for any drive for that manner?
:?:

Mr.Tweak
08-20-2002, 09:11 AM
Nice find Jarrod! :)

E^vol
08-20-2002, 09:30 AM
Would you say that a fan in an Antec case's hd cage is ok for hd cooling needs ?
Did that come out right ?

Wiggo
08-20-2002, 09:32 AM
Yes that is quite ok. ;)

:beer: :beer: :beer:

ReSpAwN DeMoN
08-20-2002, 09:33 AM
What kind of cooling is on the antecs case? As for me I have some cheap cheap 5 dollar cooler that I got at coolerguys.com. It has dual 35MM (I thinK) fans that don't move much air. Acutally I think it does. I guess with this new (to me) program I just downloaded says my drive is 34C (92F) so I guess what I have will be more then sufficient.

el oh el what wrong with how that came out?:?:

Wiggo
08-20-2002, 09:40 AM
That's a quite ok temp. :thumb:

:beer: :beer: :beer:

drpeterbright
08-20-2002, 12:34 PM
Great temp there.

FaithSmiles
08-27-2002, 01:27 AM
Beefy,

If your case is getting too hot I would be worried if that heat is causing damage to your hard drive or motherboard. I would get a hard drive cooling unit. I think you can get them from CompUSA they look kind of like a box that you can put your drive in and it has fans and a filter to keep dust and other stuff from harming your drive. Last I knew they weren't too pricey.

Or you can always buy more cooling fans.

Your choice.

Wiggo
08-27-2002, 01:34 AM
I don't think that CompUSA would help him out to much as he lives in Australia. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

FaithSmiles
08-27-2002, 01:40 AM
Woops... that would pose a problem.

Maybe someone else knows of a store in Australia that carries hard drive cooling units?

ReSpAwN DeMoN
01-01-2003, 05:49 AM
since the death of my 15 month old deathstar last week.

http://forums.tweaktown.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7000

I bought a new WD 80GIG Special Edition drive. It works great but now there is one problem. Several posts up in this thread I was told that IBM drives have internal temperature probes. And that program that I used to use at hddtemperature.com worked great. Now it doesn't seem to work on my new disk. Do WD's not have internal probes?

CheeZmonZter
01-06-2003, 11:18 PM
I was looking for a temp probe for my WD SE drive and found this list on http://www.hddtemperature.com/hdds.html and it seems that none of the drives have the temp probe...bummer:cry:

Wiggo
01-06-2003, 11:56 PM
Well I can now tell ya's (as I'm now in the house) that the WD JB800 in Thunder (see sig) is runnin' at 33.3C (or 5.2C above room temp (currently 28.1C) and as usual still under full load with SMART FAN II for the drive cage off (temp goes down 0.6C with SMART FAN II @ 4000rpm but my senses rebell). ;)

<small>figures obtained by thermal sensor attached to HDD and read by a DigitalDoc5</small>
<center>:cheers:</center>

ReSpAwN DeMoN
01-07-2003, 06:13 AM
in that case wiggo..........I should be able to get temps of my new SE drive soon cuase I just blew away my last paycheck on case mods. Yes I'm modding my case again. Anyway in the list of mods (not really a mod) I bought a hardcano5. Just thought I'd let yuh know. I ordered it on friday with 3day shipping hopefully it will be in by wednesday or thursday at the most. I still haven't gotten a damn tracking number :hmph:

Wiggo
01-07-2003, 09:07 AM
Ok then but ya may have already read my other post about this other question ya have/had by now. ;)

I'm only replyin' atm while I'm on hold on the landline. :)
<center>:cheers:</center>