PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading Old Dell For Quake 3



Lava Lamp Freak
07-25-2002, 04:16 AM
I'd like to fix up my old Dell so that I can have friends play against me once I get my new machine set up. It is a Pentium III 350 with 256MB. I'm getting a GeForce 3 from a friend who is upgrading to a GeForce 4 Ti and doesn't need the 3 any more. Does anyone know if it would perform well enough to provide decent game play at 640x480 or 800x600? Anyone have links to some GeForce 3 benchmarks on older machines? Thanks!

RDR
07-25-2002, 04:20 AM
if it's running at 350MHz I think it's gotta be a PII.....

zeradul
07-25-2002, 04:54 AM
Yes, that would run Q3 fairly well... And yea, any 350 Mhz processor made by intel is a PII (unless you meant 450 Mhz?)

Lava Lamp Freak
07-25-2002, 05:09 AM
Sorry, don't know why I said 350. It is a 450.

drpeterbright
08-04-2002, 07:09 AM
:geek: You shouldn't have a problem with that setup. Trying to set up your friends to lose huh? :cantfocus

chisholm
08-04-2002, 08:12 AM
yea bcos of your cpu u can;t expect very good performance...but for Q3 it should be enuf:cheers: