PDA

View Full Version : How would i go about Installing a second hd



soulreaver
07-26-2002, 05:09 PM
Hi Can someone help me out,

My friend will be bringing his hard drive over and i was wonder how would i go about getting it to work so i can take his files it.
Then when were done just unplug it.

I have a dvd rom and a burner and one hardrive

Wiggo
07-26-2002, 05:24 PM
Well your hard drive should be the master of the primary IDE channel, ya burner the master of the secondary channel and ya DVD the slave on the secondary (well that the optimum setup anyway). Ya friends hard drive just set as a slave on the primary channel. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

soulreaver
07-26-2002, 05:44 PM
My bruner is on the same cable as the hd is this a problem

Wiggo
07-26-2002, 06:12 PM
Well it would actually slow ya hard drive's performance down but I take it that ya DVD is the master of the secondary IDE then and if ya don't want to change anything just add the other hard drive as the slave on the secondary IDE as ya won't have it in there long so the performance hit won't bother ya. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

soulreaver
07-26-2002, 09:08 PM
Thanks for the help:snip:

qwk69gto
07-28-2002, 12:18 PM
Hi!
Change it to Wiggo’s optimum setup… your going to be in there anyway!
That way you know you’re running at full speed.
Wiggo’s advice also applies to your friend’s HD… if it’s slower, yours will run just as slow.
Laters.
______________________________________
AMD Athlon 1.2 w/Volcano7 cooler
Iwill KA266-R motherboard
512m PC-2100 DDR Ram
2 IBM 40g HD’s in RAID 0 w/active cooling
60g Maxtor on IDE 3 (ATA100 controller card)
Lite On 32/12/40 CD-RW on IDE 0 (master)
Pioneer DVD-116 on IDE 0 (slave)
Plextor 16/10/40 CD-RW on IDE 1
PNY GeForce4 MX-420 64m AGP video card
SoundBlaster Live! Value
3Com 56k modem
Linksys LAN w/cable internet
Antec SOHO Server case.
4 80mm case fans (plus power supply fan)
KDS VS-190p 19” monitor

HackofDestruct
08-14-2002, 06:26 AM
are you just doing this for like the dayif so them take the chain with the roms and take them off then but the hdd on and do file transferts and if you need the a rom put one on as secondary