PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to build your own MAC?



nosX
07-29-2002, 03:03 AM
Is it possible to build a Macintosh System with OSX? :confused:

Darthtanion
07-29-2002, 05:55 AM
Couldn't say, but... WHY?

Mr. C
07-29-2002, 06:38 AM
I'd think your best bet would be to go to http://www.apple.com and configure a system from the options available there.

nosX
07-29-2002, 01:25 PM
just curious

HackofDestruct
07-30-2002, 11:40 AM
i bet you could from an old mac but where do you get the os

nosX
07-30-2002, 12:41 PM
from apple i guess lol

Beefy
07-30-2002, 12:52 PM
you can buy the OS.. just like a PC.. :rolleyes2

Wiggo
07-30-2002, 02:04 PM
It would be easier just to go out and buy a Mac if ya that desparate. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

nosX
07-30-2002, 02:50 PM
they are expensive lol

sKuLLsHoT
07-31-2002, 08:43 AM
i think its a legitimate and interesting question, i mean really, we all build PCs and customise like mad, is there any possibility that someone could gather parts together to at one stage end up with a mac system?

it's got me curious now :?:

Beefy
07-31-2002, 10:34 AM
*smacks head*

of course it is. Macs aren't really all that different to a PC..

Wiggo
07-31-2002, 10:43 AM
Just findin' certain parts for sale would be the hard part. ;)
:beer: :beer: :beer:

nosX
07-31-2002, 04:40 PM
so I can get a Western Digital Mac compatible HD , Mac Compatible cd/rw , power supply regular case processor and install mac OSX am I right? :afro:

Wiggo
07-31-2002, 05:43 PM
Maybe ya should just see how much a 2nd hand one goes for on EBay. ;)
:beer: :beer: :beer:

nosX
07-31-2002, 06:08 PM
heh I would like to build my own , just like a pc :))))))))) :afro:

Corduroy
07-31-2002, 06:18 PM
As far as I'm aware any Hard Drive will work with a Mac, and non-mac CD-ROM can be used. You'll save a lot not using Apple's Ram brand too, they double the market cost for theirs. You can also use any mouse or keyboard, if they're USB. You'd simply have to find a Mac Motherboard and a G4 Processor, which shouldn't be too hard.

I'm not super familiar with Macs, but I'm assuming that they use a different power connector on their motherboards just so you have to get their PSU.

nosX
07-31-2002, 06:23 PM
aha so it is possible :)

Wiggo
07-31-2002, 07:21 PM
See if ya can find someone on Ebay who's sellin' parts from a stripped out and converted Mac as there have been plenty of those mods about. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

nosX
08-01-2002, 03:54 AM
guess I could:afro:

Beefy
08-01-2002, 08:34 AM
aha so it is possible :)

I told you that before.. Didn't you believe me? :(

nosX
08-01-2002, 11:12 AM
of course I believe u :)) :angel: