PDA

View Full Version : Radeon 7500 or 8500?



Bugman
07-30-2002, 09:50 AM
Hello Everyone.

Im currently running a PIII 600, 512 MB ram, and Win 2k. Im looking to updgrade from my TNT2 card, and I want to go with an ATI. (Basically because I know they work with an AGP 1.0 slot)

However, which is worth it to me? the 7500 or the 8500? My processor is going to be the bottleneck regardless. Im not going to be getting another machine for over a year, and by then the card prices will have dropped on other better cards, so Im not too worried about putting this into a future system.

So which is the better value?

(Im a casual gamer, do some CAD work, pretty basic stuff)

~Bugman

FLaCo
07-30-2002, 10:27 AM
Another question ...what would a 7500 compare to in the nVidia line of GeForces?

Wiggo
07-30-2002, 11:04 AM
The 7500 is basically up against the GF2's. ;)
<center><img src="http://forums.tweaktown.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=67399">
:cheers:</center>

FLaCo
07-30-2002, 11:08 AM
Thanks again WiGGo that graph sure comes in handy on these forums...: peace2:

Wiggo
07-30-2002, 11:30 AM
It sure does but I hope they update it at the end of the year though. :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Bugman
07-30-2002, 11:32 AM
But Im still wondering how it will help me on my old and dusty comp....

Any thoughts?

~Bugman

Wiggo
07-30-2002, 11:36 AM
For what you want it for the 7500 would probably be enough for ya but it's really up to you on what ya want to spend. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Bugman
07-30-2002, 12:04 PM
Thanks Wiggo. Thats the kinda thing I was lookin to hear.

And how is it in Australlia right now anyway? (Off topic, I know) I still need to head that way to visit. I only made it as far as NZ last time I had plane $$$.

(nice postings for babes as well)

~Bugman

Wiggo
07-30-2002, 12:47 PM
It's been a bit wet here in Sydney for the last 24hrs though it's been cool for a bit but should be ok in a couple months when it warms up again. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Morgan_Lander
07-30-2002, 01:46 PM
If you think the 8500 is gonna be expensive, you can always get the 8500LE which can be had under $100 and is clocked a little slower than the retail 8500---but it is still very fast and would give you some headroom whenever you would go to a new board and CPU.
Either one will be a massive improvement over what you have now, but the 8500 has full Direct X 8 compatibility, whereas the 7500 does not. The 7500 is pretty much a faster clocked version of the original Radeon.

Ehhe Yebeb
07-30-2002, 04:53 PM
Actually ive seen many different benchmarks where the 7500 beats the GeForce 4 MX series. It kind of ranges between a GF2 ultra and a G4 MX460. I personally dont think it is worth it to buy a radeon 8500 (because they are expensive here) especially for the odd game every now and then.

Wiggo
07-30-2002, 05:27 PM
A 8500LE for just over $90 US I don't think would kill him as he is in the US and not here where the price is the price is $300+ aus. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Ehhe Yebeb
07-30-2002, 08:11 PM
Yeh youve got to love video card prices here, $700 for a Ti4600. If you want anything that supports DX8 be prepared to shell out at least $275 (screw that)

Bugman
07-30-2002, 09:18 PM
Woah. Why are prices so expensive for you guys? That seems rediculous. I dont know the Australlian-US exchange rate, but wouldnt you be better off just having it shipped there from here?

~Bugman

Wiggo
07-30-2002, 10:22 PM
Not only does the exchange rate and it's charges kill us but the added cost of freight to here and other bull**** charges just makes it that way. :cry:
<center>:cheers:</center>

RDR
07-30-2002, 10:51 PM
If you are going to get an 8500Le - you might want to do it fairly soon - it's supposed to be discontinued in favour of the 9000/9000Pro.
Alhough with in 3mos. the price will probably be the same anyway.

Ehhe Yebeb
07-31-2002, 10:21 AM
Not only does the exchange rate and it's charges kill us but the added cost of freight to here and other bull**** charges just makes it that way. :cry:
<center>:cheers:</center>

heh, after you put in the exchange rate factor (say i want a GF ti200 for $90USD), thats about $165aud ($110 cheaper than it is here). Then you add in shipping charges (internation), freight (international), and insurance, as well as the risk of ordering internationally, and the fact that you have to ship back if anything is wrong, and that there are so many more ways your order can get messed up, its much easier to pay the lot extra and buy domestically.

Ehhe Yebeb
07-31-2002, 10:22 AM
If you are going to get an 8500Le - you might want to do it fairly soon - it's supposed to be discontinued in favour of the 9000/9000Pro.
Alhough with in 3mos. the price will probably be the same anyway.

Discontinued, but it will still be sold. I think the 8500LE is probably a more powerful card than the 9000, and shops will still be selling it for a couple of years, hell its still easy to buy TNT2's, SiS 305's and GeForce 2's here

Bugman
07-31-2002, 10:27 AM
Ooooh. Amazon.com has the AIW 7500 Retail for 118.00 with free shipping (for us in the States...)

Is it just me or is that a good deal on the card? (if you need the All in Wonder functionality)

~Bugman

Wiggo
07-31-2002, 10:32 AM
That sounds pretty good to me Bugman. :thumb:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

Ehhe Yebeb
07-31-2002, 03:46 PM
I think thats about the same as a mid-high range GeForce 3 Ti200 am i correct? the Ti200 would be faster for games, but the 7500 will give you a bit of extra 2D goodness as well as better DVD playback and as you mentioned all the all in wonder goodies, so i would get it

drpeterbright
08-04-2002, 07:07 AM
:drunk: Why don't you just get a GeForce4 Ti 4200? It beats the 8500. :bounce2:

chisholm
08-04-2002, 08:13 AM
that's what i was about to say:p

Wiggo
08-04-2002, 08:20 AM
Read the original post guys. :(
:beer: :beer: :beer:

drpeterbright
08-04-2002, 11:18 PM
Wiggo - I did read it. I don't see why he can't run a Ti4200 at 1x or 2x AGP until he upgrades.

Wiggo
08-04-2002, 11:22 PM
With older PC's the PSU's in a lot of cases, if not the motherboards, won't handle the extra power requirements. I wind up with a lot of PC's here because of that very factor. Another thing is whether the AGP slot is a universal one or a strict coded one. Sometimes a better PSU is installed but other times the vid card just has to be changed for something that works in it. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Bugman
08-05-2002, 09:03 AM
Hey Folks.

Well, I ended up with an 8500le from www.newegg.com.
Its Built By ATI, and clocked at 250.

So now, my only question is how do I flash this thing with a retail bios to increase the clock speed?

~Bugman

: party ha

Wiggo
08-05-2002, 09:42 AM
Most of what your lookin' for can be found here, http://www.rage3d.com/ , but you may need to do some voltage moddin' which can be done with a pencil though I havn't got the link for that atm. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>