PDA

View Full Version : Blue screen While OC a unlocked XP1700+



Mad_Max911
08-06-2002, 03:31 PM
I'm having trouble overclocking my amd xp1700+. While OC in the bios it says for example that its a 1900+ under startup, so it should be unlocked fine. But when Windows XP is starting up im getting a blue screen and have to reboot. The CPU temp is only 49 degrees celsius and i have tried adjusting Vcore but no luck:( :( :( .......
PLZZZZZZZ Help.....

Wiggo
08-06-2002, 03:35 PM
You may just have gone to far with the overclock. Have you just used the multiplier to overclock or both multiplier and FSB? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Mad_Max911
08-06-2002, 05:00 PM
The only thing i have clocked is the multiplier not ANYTHING else not even my G4 TI4200... and i have an ok cooler and none the less the cpu is only 48 degrees.

Wiggo
08-06-2002, 07:08 PM
Why try and force the load and heat only onto the CPU? :crazy:
Look I've been building Athlon, Duron and P2/3/Celeron (not many of the Intel lot though) but every board I've use (for the 2 years) , VIA based KT133A, KT266A and KT333 will easily take on a 10% overclock itself with no problems. ;)

Your CPU is -----> 133MHz FSBx11=1467MHz=1700+

Your pushing ---> 133MHz FSBx12=1600MHz=1900+ (too to load the os)

Now you have put all the strain of the CPU which not only heat stresses the CPU and maybe shortening its life drastically, and maybe your motherboard will out last plenty of upgrades.
Let the CPU look after half of the overclock and the motherboard about 10% (this may sound a little strange at 1st but bare with me ;) ). Look at this

You could do this ->140MHz FSBx11.5=1610MHz=1900+ (stable as hell)

Your AGP rate = 70MHz= 6% overclock and all nVidia (and quiet a few others of late) and

Your PCI rate = 35MHz= 6% overclock (I havn't seen a PCI that can't cop that) and the system won't even sweat at this (well so long as there's reasonable air going thru the case).


Now you half just achieved the same outcome but this time you can boot into your os I bet and it will be stable, unless of course you've used cheap memory (nope, you've got Kingston there).
But this time not is your system running obtaining the 1900+ rating, your getting extra performance from the faster data flow from within your motherboard and cardss as well and benchmarks will prove that. All this and I doubt that any system similar to yours will die prematurely.

Now you say, "But you havn't put a 10% load on the motherboard?", but what if we do this now?

145MHz FSB x 11.5 = 1667MHz = 2000+

Now this is the were a little bit of fiddlin' with voltages and/or memory timmings usually comes in, but usually this is unnecessary with quality components (mmm..... just noticed the Maxtor there, there know to be a bit fussy with higher FSB's).

Now lets examine those AGP and PCI buses.

Your AGP rate = 72.5MHz= 10% overclock

Your PCI rate = 36.5 MHz=10 % overclock

Now I havn't seen too many systems of late that won't do this thus by sharing the load and it everything has been looked after your system should still last for years. It's after this point where you may start to degrade the systems life expectancy slight to middley.

There's really no reason for you not to try and at least try for the first one as that will work where trying to jump a full multiplier won't. The second one is only if you want to try but gee even my 3.5 year old PC No.1 does it even. My PC No.2 does use a 5% core voltage increase to get that 150MHz FSB but it runs 24/7 with Seti always runnin', even while games are being played (which is most of the day and night) and does it stabily.

Now I take no responsability for your excursion to the darkside and I've left a few of the finer details out but that should give you an idea on a better way to go about what ya doin'. :devil win
<center>:cheers:</center>

E^vol
08-09-2002, 02:01 AM
cool. how much of an improvement should be seen by doing this ?
how about the 1800+ ? can we apply the same for that cpu too ?

Wiggo
08-09-2002, 02:13 AM
Click on the link in my sig "PC No.2" and check the specs out.
then compare this 3DMark 2001SE score at bog stardard settings,
<center><img src="http://forums.tweaktown.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=56779"></center>
compared to this one with my 1800+ running at 2100+ and the menory and video card tweaked out. ;)
<center><img src="http://forums.tweaktown.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=71043"></center>
And I think I could mabye still get that score closer to 6500. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>