PDA

View Full Version : Amd Xp2000+



CMCHomer
08-27-2002, 10:35 AM
Ok i have this beast oc`ed to 1750 mhz all from the bios.

Im not one for soldering bits on the cpu so does anyone know what i can expect to reach ?

If i use the windows overclocking tool that came with the mobo it goes to 1800 without a problem.

Only reason i ask is i had a Celeron 1 gig and if i oced it to say 103 FSB windows no longer booted and a system file was corrupted.

I realy dont want to start having to reimage my OS so if anyone knows what i can expect from this baby i would love to hear from you..


Cheers :afro:

Darthtanion
08-27-2002, 11:12 AM
There is no soldering required to overclock your XP toy. Check this out (http://www.tweaktown.com/document.php?dType=review&dId=203) for a means to unlock the processor and go even higher.

As to how high you will go, that depends on several factors. The only real way to find out is to play around with it and see how high it will fly. :)

FLaCo
08-27-2002, 11:18 AM
Yup...eventually you will hit your limit and then just tone it down a bit...until you are stable...You can prolly hit 148 FSB which is 1.84 ..a bit higher than a 2200+. That is where my 2000+ is completely stable ...150 FSB (1.88) is good but not too stable.

CMCHomer
08-27-2002, 11:46 AM
Thanks guys :)

1 more thing if i am oc`ing to that extreme what should i change the core voltage to ?
Do i even have to bother ?

FLaCo
08-28-2002, 12:35 AM
Again only increase your voltage if you have to. Usually a small voltage increase will give you the stability you need on a certain FSB setting. Some people like WiGGo has his at 150 FSB without a voltage increase. I, on the other hand at 147 i needed nothing yet at 148 a small voltage gave the stability i needed. At 150 i went to bit higher but stability was never good so i decided to stay at 148 and have been there since.

Wiggo
08-28-2002, 12:52 AM
Now that's not quite right as I have a Gigabyte's 5% increace in voltage due to minor little things happenin' every now and again, but not anymore. :D
<center>:cheers:</center>

FLaCo
08-28-2002, 04:18 AM
Oh, i'm sorry WiG i always thought you had default voltage settings on your XP.:)

Darthtanion
08-28-2002, 09:24 AM
As a general rule, a decent air-type cooler will have no problems with voltages up to 1.85v, but if you decide to go higher (or mod the mainboard so it CAN go higher), then you should start to look into some extreme cooling techniques like water.

wwilliam54
08-28-2002, 09:48 AM
I second that
I pushed my duron to 2.4volts
with air it didnt live for but a few weeks

drpeterbright
08-28-2002, 10:11 PM
What is the best water cooling solution? Is there a consensus or is it more case specific?

mgbnetworking
08-29-2002, 07:52 AM
I managed to run mine to 1836Mhz but ive had it to 1860Mhz but it seemed to be a bit choppy at this speed
im trying to push it further
i also altered all the mem timings too which made a Huge differance on performance

MGB Net

==============
ABIT KX7 333 w/RAID
XP2000 @ 1836 (10.5 x 174)
512 Mb 2700 mem
2 x 20 Gb HD (fireball AS20 and seagate ??)
1 x 60 Gb Maxtor 7200 ATA 133
GeForce Ti 4400 @ 290/630
Water Cooled
Threw away Round ATA leads as Win2k wouldnt load with them
Running WinXP and Win2K server
==============

Wiggo
08-29-2002, 03:16 PM
1800MHz+ is what I've got with them but there's always the odd one out there. :(
<center>:cheers:</center>

mgbnetworking
08-30-2002, 09:51 PM
here



==============
ABIT KX7 333 w/RAID
XP2000 @ 1836 (10.5 x 174)
512 Mb 2700 mem
2 x 20 Gb HD (fireball AS20 and seagate ??)
1 x 60 Gb Maxtor 7200 ATA 133
GeForce Ti 4400 @ 290/630
Water Cooled
Threw away Round ATA leads as Win2k wouldnt load with them
Running WinXP and Win2K server
==============

drpeterbright
08-30-2002, 09:55 PM
Part of your pic got cut off there mgb.

chisholm
08-31-2002, 08:56 AM
well i had a xp200 that was rock stable at 1.83ghz 1.9vcore...:cheers:

CMCHomer
08-31-2002, 09:22 AM
where can i get WCPUID from guys ??

drpeterbright
08-31-2002, 09:27 AM
www.majorgeeks.com

CMCHomer
08-31-2002, 09:39 AM
Question..

If i drop the multiplyer down to 10.5 and oc the fsb higher will that make it more stable ?

At the moment i have it @ 145 fsb and upped the core voltage to +5% and it seems ok

drpeterbright
08-31-2002, 09:41 AM
I would try it both ways & see.

Darthtanion
08-31-2002, 10:11 AM
A lot of folks have had a lot of success with lowering the multiplier as it allows them to take the FSB to staggering levels. ;)

CMCHomer
08-31-2002, 10:55 AM
Yay finally i got over 10000 3dmarks :)


yeeeee hawwww


But i want more !!!!!!

Darthtanion
08-31-2002, 10:58 AM
Welcome to the Dark Side :flames:

mgbnetworking
08-31-2002, 10:53 PM
ill just post the figures in text

Sisoft sandra - CPU
5094/2555

Sisoft sandra - Memory Bandwidth
2599/2447

Sisoft sandra - CPU multimedia
10179/11272

3D Mark 2001
12474 Marks

Chris holm your getting an unusually low 3dmark for a 4600 dude

if ya want the pics use my ftp there on there

ftp://anon:anon@mgbnetworking.dns2go.com:21

==============
ABIT KX7 333 w/RAID
XP2000 @ 1836 (10.5 x 174)
512 Mb 2700 mem
2 x 20 Gb HD (fireball AS20 and seagate ??)
1 x 60 Gb Maxtor 7200 ATA 133
GeForce Ti 4400 @ 290/630
Water Cooled (2 x 120mm fans)
case cooling 4 x 80mm fans
Threw away Round ATA leads as Win2k wouldnt load with them
Running WinXP and Win2K server
==============

mgbnetworking
08-31-2002, 11:32 PM
ive now got a speed of 1867Mhz w00t

1 prob is now if i want to go further i have to do the voltage mod to my MoBo and my soldering skills aint too good
and i dont want to get to the liquid nitrogen cooling stage
damn

==============
ABIT KX7 333 w/RAID
XP2000 @ 1867 (10.5 x 177)
512 Mb 2700 mem
2 x 20 Gb HD (fireball AS20 and seagate ??)
1 x 60 Gb Maxtor 7200 ATA 133
GeForce Ti 4400 @ 290/630
Water Cooled (2 x 120mm fans)
case cooling 4 x 80mm fans
Threw away Round ATA leads as Win2k wouldnt load with them
Running WinXP and Win2K server
==============

mgbnetworking
09-01-2002, 12:07 AM
the main thing that restricts your gfx is normally memory
have you altered the memory timings?
also get the new Nvidia driver 40.??

and you gain about 1000 points

ill give you the mem timings
if your comp dont boot after this reset the Cmos and chnge some of the settings

advanced bios settings
disable CPU L2 cache ecc check
APIC mode enabled

Dramm settings
CAS - 2
Bank interleave - 4 Bank
precharge to active (TRP) - 2T
active to precharge (TRAS)- 5T (can cause HD probs) i kept this at 6
active to command (TRCD) - 2T

Dram access - 2T
Dram command rate - 1T (this is quite a challange for some memory)

these settings gained me 1500 3d mark points
cheers

CMCHomer
09-02-2002, 12:00 PM
Ok not to sure i want to go mucking aroung with timing.

Det 40 gave me no frame improvement just head aches.


I have heard that changing the CAS taiming works but i want more info and if it makes much differance with the board i have.

mgbnetworking
09-03-2002, 01:08 AM
it should give a good mem speed increase on any Mobo ever built just check stability after each change