PDA

View Full Version : P6X58D-E beta bios



bal3wolf
10-14-2010, 02:01 PM
Hey i was wondering if their is any beta bios for the P6X58D-E that might let me run my 5870 in the 2nd slot and the 8800gt in top slot and still have 5870 as primary card. I used to do it on my old gigabyte board but i dont see the option in bios on this asus to do it or im overlooking it.

ASUS - Mason Winner
10-15-2010, 05:31 AM
Hello bal3wolf,

There is currently no BIOS that adds a switch feature for making the 2nd PCI-e x16 slot become the primary slot. May I ask what the reason is that you want to have the 5870 in the 2nd slot and the 8800GT in the 1st slot?

bal3wolf
10-15-2010, 07:50 AM
Because the 8800gt is a single slot card and the 5870 is double i have them in setup 5870 in 1st slot and 8800gt in 3rd but it gets no air cause its right next to the psu. If i could get them setup 8800gt in 1st and 5870 in 2nd theirs lots of cool air cause of the big gap between the 8800gt and 5870 then nothing next to the psu.

ASUS - Mason Winner
10-15-2010, 08:38 AM
Ok, let me give this feedback to the PM's for this motherboard and I'll let you know what I find out.

ASUS - Mason Winner
10-15-2010, 10:59 AM
Hi bal3wolf. What's the trouble that you are currently having when you put 8800GT in 1st slot and 5870 in 2nd slot and connect the monitor to the 5870?

bal3wolf
10-15-2010, 03:23 PM
yea 8800gt in 1st and 5870 in 2nd with lcd connected to the 5870 get no output. And that i can tell theirs no option in bios to switch what pcie slot you use first like iv had on some other boards. I have the antec 900 case so by putting the 8800gt in pcie1 and it being a single slot card theirs a good gap between it and the 5870 and both cards would get nice airflow. Where with it in the 2nd it kills all the air to the 5870 and in the 3rd it gets no airflow with it being ontop of the psu.

ASUS - Mason Winner
10-16-2010, 07:08 AM
I see. You're right, I was able to duplicate the issue. I can't promise that we will develop a test BIOS to add a primary PCIe switch function but I will follow-up with our BIOS engineers and see if this would be doable.

bal3wolf
10-16-2010, 10:54 AM
Thanks i like this board and dont really wanna have to move to another brand to get the functions i need thats usualy in most boards already.

wazza300
10-31-2010, 09:38 PM
any plans to give more adjustment modes in cpu offset voltage? can you include -0.0000v like gigabyte has done in dvid?

bal3wolf
11-01-2010, 04:30 AM
any plans to give more adjustment modes in cpu offset voltage? can you include -0.0000v like gigabyte has done in dvid?
I dont see that happening they havet even released a update to fix problems people have getting some sata 6 drives to detect. Good board poor support on updating the bios and fixing problems.

wazza300
11-01-2010, 05:00 AM
sata3 ports are poor anyway due to bad drivers,yeah its a good board,but gigabyte lets you tweak just that bit more

ASUS - Mason Winner
12-14-2010, 01:48 AM
bal3wolf, our engineers are not able to commit at this time to making the BIOS change that you requested to be able to use a slot other than the 1st PCIe slot as the primary display. However, you should be able to alter the order of the display after the driver has loaded up (once you've booted into Windows) if the cards are set up properly in Windows.

You can try this program, Ultramon, which should make the job easier to work with than the options you have available by default in Windows. The link is... UltraMon Features - Display profiles (http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/tour/display_profiles.asp)