PDA

View Full Version : P6X58D-E i7 930 OC ?



ChuckR
02-10-2011, 07:58 AM
I have the following System with the following settings at installation. I am at BIOS 0502.
Silverstone FT02
ASUS P6X58D-E i7 930
Kingston Non-ECC 1600MHz Unbuffered (DDR3, 1.65V, CL9, FBGA, Gold) XMP
Xigmatek DarkKnight
Kingston SSDNOW 128gb
WD Black 500gb
Windows 7 Professional 64bit.
ASUS ATI Radeon 5850


Questions:
The Manual and Bios have 2 locations for modifying the BIOS(AI TWEAKER and ADVANCED). Where do you OverClock?

I sort of understand changing the Multiplier, the Voltages, turning off certain features. I am still gun shy and looking for specifics in the forums(TWEAKTOWN, ANANDTECH, PUREOVERCLOCK)

Has anyone Overclocked a system with my Board, CPU and Memory?

wazza300
02-10-2011, 08:11 PM
Do all overclocking in the bios,what do you want to clock to? I have that mb clocked at 4.2ghz with minimal tweaking,set bclk,mem multi and timings,cpu voltage manually,set qpi/vtt voltage around 1.3v and that's all you need to do,all other settings are fine on auto

ChuckR
02-11-2011, 12:01 AM
Do all overclocking in the bios,what do you want to clock to? I have that mb clocked at 4.2ghz with minimal tweaking,set bclk,mem multi and timings,cpu voltage manually,set qpi/vtt voltage around 1.3v and that's all you need to do,all other settings are fine on auto
You say you have that MB clocked to 4.2. Your information and JPEG/CPU-Z data show Gigabyte and 920.
Can you show the settings for your P6X58D-E 930 System?

ChuckR
02-11-2011, 12:11 AM
http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/772/hwmonitorw.th.jpg (http://img15.imageshack.us/i/hwmonitorw.jpg/)
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/4410/cpuzspd.th.jpg (http://img222.imageshack.us/i/cpuzspd.jpg/)
http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/7379/cpuzmemory.th.jpg (http://img8.imageshack.us/i/cpuzmemory.jpg/)
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/138/cpuzcpum.th.jpg (http://img13.imageshack.us/i/cpuzcpum.jpg/)

wazza300
02-11-2011, 12:13 AM
I have both gigabyte and asus mb with 920,use 21x200 bclk,then set cpu voltage to manual and set cpu voltage offset to 0.0750v,set qpi/vtt voltage to 1.32v and ram speed to 1600mhz and dram bus voltage according to
your ram,if you don't want to use voltage offset for cpu then set it to a fixed 1.26v,disable Intel turbo boost too

ChuckR
02-11-2011, 12:26 AM
I have both gigabyte and asus mb with 920,use 21x200 bclk,then set cpu voltage to manual and set cpu voltage offset to 0.0750v,set qpi/vtt voltage to 1.32v and ram speed to 1600mhz and dean bus voltage according to
your ram,if you don't want to use voltage offset for cpu then set it to a fixed 1.26v,disable Intel turbo boost too
Does setting the CPU RATIO to 21 achieve the BCLK value?
What about these Voltages?
CPU VOLTAGE CONTROL - MANUAL
CPU VOLTAGE 1.25
CPU PLL 1.84
QPI/DRAM 1.24

PCIE ENABLE
CPU SPREAD ENABLE
HT DISABLED

wazza300
02-11-2011, 03:05 AM
Qpi/dram should be 1.32v and try 1.26 cpu voltage,set dram bus voltage to ram spec either 1.5 or 1.65v,yes cpu ratio set to 21x and bclk to 200,disable Intel turbo boost,all other voltages are fine on auto
Enable.multithreading