PDA

View Full Version : How reformat and install Win 2000



J_M_C_123
09-12-2002, 11:36 AM
I am running Win 98 now. I want to go up to win 2000.

How do I reformat from win 2000 boot disks? How do I install Win 2000 (ie. is there anything tricky about it)?

Can you provide any links to sites that address this?

Thanks

Wiggo
09-12-2002, 12:02 PM
If ya got the right 2K CD you can boot from the CD and do what ya want with the drive that way. ;)
:beer: :beer: :beer:

DarK.Karni
09-12-2002, 01:56 PM
:angel: ok there is no 2000 boot disk just use a 98 one... put it in and b00t from floppy type: format c: /s and then yes.. when this is down reboot ur computer with the 2000 cd in the drive and make sure it u hve it set to boot from cd in the bios.. and there u go .. nothing tricky tho 2000 takes ages to install and may repeat some steps for no reason at alll :afro:

CMCHomer
09-12-2002, 02:38 PM
You dont need a bootable floppy disk !!!

Windows 2000 is a bootable OS . Just set ya bios to boot to the cd first and you can format and from the disk .

:bounce: :bounce2: :bounce:

Kheldar
09-12-2002, 03:18 PM
or if that doesn't work, you can download the boot disks (just search for boot disk) or there is a utility to make the boot disks on the cd

SQ-XcON S13
09-13-2002, 12:04 PM
If the 2k cd is not bootable, try using a win98 boot disk with SMARTDRV. In bios, set it up so your floppy is the first boot device.
then in dos type 'SMARTDRV' Then FDISK to create/delete ur partitions, then format by typing 'FORMAT C:' After formatting it will tell u to restart the comp. Leave the floppy in again and start the comp with 'CDROM SUPPORT'. Then in dos again type "SMARTDRV" again. Then change ur directory to "E:\" After that type "CD I386" After that it will say "I386" Then type "WINNT" Now the cd should copy the set up files to your harddrive and go from there. =) Hope this helped.

CMCHomer
09-13-2002, 12:11 PM
SQ-XcON S13 i would say that from the start JMC 123 is new to installing OS`s so that may be a little to complicated for him. He hasnt come back to say it has worked or to say thanks :angryfire

SQ-XcON S13
09-13-2002, 06:24 PM
Didnt realize that, no problem, my apologies.:cool:

J_M_C_123
10-01-2002, 02:49 PM
Thanks everyone. using win98 boot disks just like a 98 reformat seems best. i haven't done anything yet because some say my old ati all in wonder pro card/drivers might not work as good as with 2000 as with 98.

thanks