PDA

View Full Version : How can I set up memory module to operate at 1066???



koske
05-08-2011, 06:27 AM
Hello
I have 2 qustions:
1.) I have 2x2GB Kingston HiperX @1066 MHz
Motherboard:GA-EP45DS4
CPU:Intel Q6600
How can I set up memory module to operate at 1066MHz?

2.) also have a module of 2GB @ 800 MHz
Whether they can be paired and what are the settings in bios?

What do you suggest, to leave only 2x2gb @ 1066 MHz, or to mix with the module from 800 MHz?

Thnx a lot

Lsdmeasap
05-11-2011, 05:53 PM
Can you give me a link to each set of memory so we can check the specs of each.

koske
05-12-2011, 01:27 PM
Yes, I can....

KHX8500D2/2G @1066 MHz
KHX8500D2/2G @1066 MHz
KHX6400D2LL/2G @800 MHz

1&3 slot KHX8500D2/2G
2 slot KHX6400D2LL/2G

operate in flex memory mode... @800mhz...

thnx...

profJim
05-12-2011, 05:43 PM
Set primary memory timings to 5-5-5-15 and Dram Voltage = 2.20 volts.
With Cpu Host Frequency = 333MHz, set System Memory Multiplier = 3.20B (333 x 3.20 = 1066MHz).
You should perform stability/stress testing to ensure that your system is stable.

I suggest running with 2 x 2GB and use the single memory module as a high tech paper weight. ;)

You can use Flex mode mode with three modules, but you will need to find a lower stable memory speed and memory settings.

Check out Desktop Boards — Single, dual, triple and flex memory modes (http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/cs-011965.htm) for more information.

koske
12-02-2011, 03:43 AM
thanks buddy,
but I currently have installed 8GB (4X2GB), if you have a proposal how to make 8 GB of memory to operate at 1066MHz,
Thanks again

koske
12-02-2011, 03:49 AM
4x2GB
KHX8500D2/2G @1066 MHz
KHX8500D2/2G @1066 MHz
KHX8500D2/2G @1066 MHz
KHX8500D2/2G @1066 MHz
= 8GB

gigababjte not yet set a new update, it may be the problem?
the latest beta update is available

koske
12-02-2011, 04:01 AM
I currently work at 800MHz

profJim
12-02-2011, 04:45 AM
With 8GB (4 x 2GB) of identical memory modules running at 800MHz, which stress tests have you run and how long did each test run? Were there any errors during any of the stress tests?

The fastest way to optimize your memory is to provide detailed information found in steps 1 - 4 in the middle of http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/31786-ep43-ud3l-q9400-wont-post-keeps-rebooting.html#post295784, post #5.
Please also post a CPU-Z text report by clicking on the ABOUT tab, and then click the SAVE REPORT (.TXT) button.

FWIW, I'm running 8GB of Kinston HyperX T1 PC2-8500 memory at 874MHz with tight 4-4-4-10 timings, and the real world performance is excellent. Running DDR2 memory at or near 1066MHz makes no difference in most games or programs. With memory settings similar to mine, synthetic memory benchmark test scores will be lower than 1066MHz speeds. In my opinion, 1066 - 1100MHz memory speeds are great for bragging rights, but nothing else.

koske
12-02-2011, 02:57 PM
in which the program can provide detailed information that led me.
From BIOS or another software
thanks

koske
12-02-2011, 03:18 PM
Wow I found hehe:) Sorry for my stupidity. I am currently at work, so I will later write.
Thanks again

koske
12-03-2011, 07:37 AM
4025

koske
12-03-2011, 07:38 AM
4026

koske
12-03-2011, 07:39 AM
4027

koske
12-03-2011, 07:40 AM
4028

koske
12-03-2011, 07:43 AM
CPU: INtel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 Ghz
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS4 BIOS version F9
Installed Memory: 8GB=(4x2 GB) Kingston HiperX KHX8500D2/2G
Power Supply: LC 6550 version 2.0 (ATX12V power supply switching power supply MAX 550W)
Tower Case: Chieftec Aegis CH-05B-B-OP with 4 fans
(4 fans with two of the 9 cm (Thermaltake TT-9225) DC12V and a further two of 12 cm (D12-CHIEFTEC SL-12) attached to a glass Tower Case)
Sistem Type: WINDOWS 7 64 BIT

koske
12-03-2011, 07:47 AM
http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/KHX8500D2_2G.pdf

profJim
12-03-2011, 06:00 PM
Before you make any changes, you need to be sure that your system is stable by running some stress tests.
Running the Prime95 Blend test for 6 - 8 hours is a good starting point.
Before you start this test you need to enable Round Off Checking.
The attached picture shows that round off checking is enabled.
Stop the test if any errors occur and post a screen-shot of the Prime95 error.
Check out the Prime95 tutorial by clicking on the link in my signature.

Your memory is similar to mine and I'm using 8GB at 874MHz with 4-4-4-10 timings and Dram Voltage = 2.20 volts.
Running your memory at or near 1066MHz with 5-5-5-15 timings might be stable, but the real world performance will be the same as my settings. For better system performance, overclocking your system and using optimal memory timings will give the best results.

What is the brand/model of your cpu cooler? If you have a good cooler, you can overclock your cpu higher and still have safe cpu temperatures.
Please post your current settings by copying the P45 bios template into Notepad or any plain text editor and fill in your current settings from the M.I.T. section in your bios. Be sure to press CTRL + F1 at the main bios screen before you go to the M.I.T. section. Accuracy is important and make sure that it is clear which settings are using AUTO.
http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/33613-gigabyte-bios-templates-give-us-your-settings.html#post312016 has the P45 bios template.

Please add your hardware list to your forum signature. This will help eliminate errors and make it much easier for us to quickly see your system's details.
http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/31786-ep43-ud3l-q9400-wont-post-keeps-rebooting.html#post295784, post #5 step #1 has instructions for creating the hardware list in your signature.

Prime95 download link: Free Software - GIMPS (http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/). Step #2 for New Users has the download link. Joining Gimps is not required to use the free software.
Any questions?

4029