PDA

View Full Version : TPM Base Services Stopped & Can not find BIOS setting



760slayer
07-09-2011, 09:40 AM
Not sure if I'm posting in the correct forum. I can't enable BitLocker drive encryption, because my Trusted Platform Module (TPM) service isn't present or can't be found. I ran msconfig then checked the services tab, it is set to load on startup but the service (TPM Base Services) is stopped. I have it set to load all devices drivers and services on boot, I say this because I think (not 100% sure) that Cryptographic Services must be loaded at the same time. I am aware BitLocker is a Windows 7 Ultimate feature only, which is what I am running. I have checked my BIOS settings and cannot find the option to enable TPM as other forums have suggested. My motherboard is the M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, I am running the most recent BIOS version 2201. I have read through my manual and can't find anything on it. If anyone knows where it would be located in my specific BIOS please help me out. I do not know if there is an application to force the service to run possibly, but I'm open to suggestions. Is there a specific registry that I should check?

Here is the link to my motherboard:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 (http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3/M4A89GTD_PROUSB3/#download)

profJim
07-09-2011, 12:10 PM
Check out Trusted Platform Module - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trusted_Platform_Module).
I'm pretty sure that a TPM motherboard chip is required along with the software you described.
I've seen several Gigabyte motherboards on their website where you can download the TPM user manuals and software/drivers.
I didn't see anything on the ASUS website that indicated that your motherboard supports TPM/BitLocker.
Your motherboard manual doesn't include any TPM/Bitlocker information.

760slayer
07-09-2011, 01:35 PM
Once again you are 100% correct profJim, after a quick inspection of my motherboard I see that it does not have support for a TPM chip. Kinda makes me wonder why they advertize BitLocker feature for Windows 7 Ultimate if not all computers can utilize the feature. I suppose there is a way to use BitLocker without a TPM as I found this link: So, you want to BitLocker an existing computer? - Jesper's Blog (http://msinfluentials.com/blogs/jesper/archive/2006/09/27/So_2C00_-you-want-to-BitLocker-an-existing-computer_3F00_.aspx) , but it is for vista and not 7. When I got to step 2 of the guide I noticed that I do not have this location "Computer Configuration:Windows Components:BitLocker Drive Encryption". Do you know of a utility that sets up BitLocker without needing TPM? (Other than the usb password method). Also I am going to turn off a few services just to free up a bit of RAM even though it really isn't necessary, since I don't have a TPM chip it really wouldn't disadvantage me to disable this service would it? Thanks for the quick response, you always seem to give me the best answers to any of my issues. :Peace!:

760slayer
07-09-2011, 02:14 PM
It didn't take to long to answer my own question, you must do it manually. Found out how here: How To Use BitLocker on Drives without TPM - How-To Geek (http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/6229/how-to-use-bitlocker-on-drives-without-tpm/) . I just ended up using an old 4gb flash-drive I had laying around and used the usb method even though I would rather do it a different way. Backed up my key on it and leaving the flash-drive in one of my unused usb ports in the back of my computer, dedicating the rest of the space on it to ReadyBoost. Thanks for the help :bdaybiggr

profJim
07-09-2011, 07:58 PM
Glad to hear that you're able to use BitLocker, thanks for sharing your findings.
From the last line in my signature: I'm not always right, but I'm never wrong. :ponder: