New Computer, Which Mobo?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Computer, Which Mobo?

I am looking at an Epox board, and I have a couple of questions about them. I'm lookin at either the 8K3A+ or the 8K5A3+. What is the difference between these two?
    I want to get the Athlon XP 2200+, do these boards support it? Also, what is the Athlon MP 2200+?

Will I be able to upgrade to newer chips for a while, or are they changing the chips to the point of needing a new mobo in the near future?

Do these have onboard sound, LAN, and/or anything else? If they do, is it easy to shut off to upgrade to a PCI card?

What is AGP 8x, and do these boards have it? I want to make a computer for gaming, and I've been reading about needing AGP 8x for a good video card.

Do these boards overclock easily?

This is my first time building a computer, so I really don't know much of anything. Also, the only reason I picked the Epox board was because it is the one that jumped out at me and said buy me, dunno why. So if you have a good reason, recomend a different brand.

Thanks,
    JEK

I think EPox is a good choice. That is the only type of board that I buy. (aside from needing a new slot-A board when I fried the old one) There are also a couple other people in the forums that swear by them. I can tell you from experience that the onboard sound is easy to shut off. I have never used mine, cause I already have pci cards that I didn't want to go to waste. I would imagine that any other onboard stuff would be just as easy on the Epox boards.