PDA

View Full Version : Ram compatabillity......

P23UNK
02-02-2012, 07:36 PM
I know this type of question gets asked every week but i am a novice at this. I have been looking at different makes and models of ram to upgrade my system as i play battlefield 3. I have tried to read up on the different speeds, types and makes of ram and have come across the corsair vengeance 16gb(4x4gb kit) Dual channel ddr3 CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B. This seems to be a very good choice by what i have read but am still unsure. I tried to check weather it is compatible with my MOBO and found a site that says it is compatible up untill it hits 1600MHz then there is a star next to 1600MHz and 1800MHz with (OC) next to it. Does this mean i have to overclock my computer for it to run at these higher speeds? My system spec is
MOBO - MSI P55M-GD45 (MS-7588)
GPU - AMD Sapphire Radion HD 6950
CPU - Intel i7 860 @ 2.8GHz
RAM - Kingston 4GB (2x2GB)

Any help would be great, or even some sudgestions for a better choice of ram.
Cheers.

Lsdmeasap
02-02-2012, 07:47 PM
Those sould work fine in your motherboard, although you may need to tinker a bit in the BIOS to get 16GB stable but not always.
http://www.corsair.com/vengeance-16gb-dual-channel-ddr3-memory-kit-cmz16gx3m4a1600c9b.html

You may be better off stability-wise to pick out a 8GB kit 2x4GB, and that should be easier on your wallet and would be plenty to game with too.

P23UNK
02-03-2012, 03:30 AM
Cheers for that. What settings might need to be tweaked in the bios? Why might they be unstable? I'm just trying to learn as much as I can so I understand how to properly match ram with specific mobos and systems. Cheers.

Lsdmeasap
02-03-2012, 12:38 PM