PDA

View Full Version : Setup



Moctezuma05
10-01-2002, 09:22 AM
Is it better to setup raid 0 on one or 2 chanels? I dun know if its called chanel so is it better to set it up on the same cable or on 2 different cables? I wonder how many raid questions ive asked already

Wiggo
10-01-2002, 12:03 PM
If ya just have the 2 HDD's then it's better to set each as a master on each channel as this will be faster. If you have them on the same channel then the drives will have to take turns in reading and writing as only 1 drive at a time can be accessed on the same channel thus slowing things down somewhat. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

bigjackusa
10-01-2002, 02:14 PM
I think that at least some ide raid controllers won't even stripe 2 hds on the same channel in a raid0 configuration.