Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ASUS P8Z68-V PRO / Gen3 BIOS Mod, including how-to instructions

Hey Tweaktowners,

note: Link for the BIOS file in the bottom of this post.

* Edit 27/10/2012: New version updated Intel VGA. *

I started this thread because i couldn't find asus Z68 bios mods with updated lan/vga/extra storage oproms, also i couldn't find clear instructions on what/how to do, so i'm hoping that by posting these stuff - I will help others to start modding asus bioses with latest firmwares.

This mod fix some problems with Lucid virtu (no longer crushing), with SSD Trim and a few other issues.

I'm a newbie on bioses so I won’t be able to help you with YOUR bios, but my how-to should work for ASUS MOTHERBOARDS from P67 chipsets and forward up to Z77 and probably even Z79/X79.

Since ASUS don't update their bioses too often, i decided to create a mod for the latest bios version 3402 with the latest firmwares.

In this version (3402) I've replaced 6 oproms:
    * Intel LAN OpRom was updated from 1.3.72 build 89 to 1.3.95 build 91.
    * Intel Raid OpRom was updated to support TRIM properly from 10.8.0.1303 to 11.6.0.1624.
    * Intel VGA OpRom was updated from 2124 to 2143.
    * Jmicron OpRom was updated from 1.07.23 to 1.07.28.
    * Marvell Sata & Esata Oproms were updated from 1.0.0.1029 (sata) and 1.0.0.1022 (esata) to 1.0.0.1033.

Now about the process:

Note: I'm not familiar with ASUS Warranty policy but there is a good chance that bios modding will VOID your warranty, use on your own risk.

1 – Software:
    A. Get Latest BIOS.
    B. Get Latest AMI Aptio MMTool (4.50.0.23 or newer!): http://win-lite.de/benutzer/fernando...v4.50.0.23.rar
    C. Get latest roms from: http://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte...fied-bios.html or from station-drivers.com.

2 – Verification: