PDA

View Full Version : Amd XP 2200 Freezes Randomly



aggr3ssor
10-03-2002, 12:49 PM
Specs:
amd2200xp
asus a7s333 mobo / sis 745 Chipset
256 ddr 333 ram
100 gig HD

Well it just likes to lock up whenever it pleases and its
almosts different amounts of time of use.
It will lock at Idle, in games, and small programs.
If anyone can help Id much appreciate it.

Heres my temps and power :

300w

Asus Aprobe says:
CPU: 52c
MainB:42

Hardware sensor prog says:
CPU:42 C
MAINB:52 C

SegiY
10-03-2002, 12:55 PM
Those temps might be a bit high, what HSF are you running? and how much aditional cooling?

Also the 300W PSU might not be enough.

bigjackusa
10-03-2002, 01:04 PM
It's a little high, but it should certainly run at that temp. I would suspect psu or ram as it does it at idle. Do you monitor voltage? See any fluctuations? Here's a link to some freeware and shareware memory test apps:

http://downloads-zdnet.com.com/3120-20-0.html?qt=ram+test&tg=dl-2001

aggr3ssor
10-03-2002, 01:47 PM
Done...no errors came up..

SegiY
10-03-2002, 01:54 PM
Thats always good :thumb:

bigjackusa
10-03-2002, 02:22 PM
I see that it is a pretty new machine. Has it always done this or did it start recently after a period of no problems? Which os are you running? If this happens very frequently, you might boot into safe mode (which leaves much of your hardware out of the equasion), turn off the monitor and power saving, leave the machine run all night, and see if it locks up. That might help you narrow it down.

aggr3ssor
10-03-2002, 02:31 PM
Yes...I assembled it a week ago and its running XP Pro w/SP1

LSo-RPS13
10-03-2002, 02:47 PM
I have a 2200+ in a a7v333, with 512 crucial ddr pc 2700 and my temps arent that high. It could be your HSF isn't up to the task. Go out and get some Artic Silver Thermal gel. When i put it on my cpu, the idle temp went from 117f to 109-111f. Also try getting some fans in your case. Let us know whats up.

SegiY
10-03-2002, 02:52 PM
Make sure it's artice silver 3
and what HSF are you running?

SegiY
10-03-2002, 02:55 PM
See where it's red?
It most likely means it's to HOT

aggr3ssor
10-03-2002, 04:00 PM
Its the hsf that came with.

And Im thinking of getting a thermaltake 9 this week so Ill see then. What do I do with this gel?

SegiY
10-03-2002, 04:31 PM
Get a Volcano 7+, they are better
The "gel" is also known as a "tim" "thermal interface material" or something like that.
You put it between your HSF and CPU to help conduct the heat across.
Artic 3 is the most proven.
You only need a thin layer though, search out some guides before you do it.

bigjackusa
10-03-2002, 04:35 PM
Artic Silver is a replacement for the pads that commonly come stuck to the bottom of heatsinks. It is generally considered to be superior. I use it with fast processors. Its purpose is to provide a thermally conductive bridge between any surface irregularities on the heatsink and cpu. Using it insures the largest surface contact between the components = greater heat transfer. To use it, start by using a piece of plastic (won't scratch) to scrape off the original pad. Clean the bottom of the heatsink thourghly with alcohol and a soft cloth. Apply a small dab of Arctic Silver to the surface of the chip in the middle of the cpu body. Smooth it with your finger or a piece of plastic. You want a uniform, thin film. Attach the heatsink carefully, not sliding it around a lot. BTW - my voltages run higher than yours, but who knows how accurate our monitors are.

SegiY
10-03-2002, 05:16 PM
Just because it's silver dose not mean it's good though, be careful there are alot of frauds out there

Wiggo
10-03-2002, 05:51 PM
Just take a look here, http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.htm :D
They use pictures :p
<center>:cheers:</center>

saidin
10-03-2002, 11:47 PM
pictures are good! So, good. :bounce: : party ha

Yeah, usually stock fans will not cut it as a good cooler. Go with Volcano 7+ and some artic silver....you wiillbe happy with the combonation! :D

aggr3ssor
10-04-2002, 12:53 AM
From what Ive read the fan on the 7+ is no good unless you mod it. I wish they'd of made the 7+ with the SmartFan2. :(

Wiggo
10-04-2002, 01:01 AM
No that's the Volcano 7 (http://www.thermaltake.com/products/heatsink/v7.htm), the Volcano 7+ (http://www.thermaltake.com/products/heatsink/v7plus.htm) is entirely different kettle of fish all together. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

SegiY
10-04-2002, 09:57 AM
Very different, the 9 is the newer version of the7
I wonder if they will bring out a 9+?

bigjackusa
10-04-2002, 11:57 AM
Wiggo

Pictures??????

Do they actually show naked processors?

pga1234
10-04-2002, 12:36 PM
How many case fans does he have? Because if the Volcano 7+ is circulating hot air around it probably won't help out too much.

KJY9
10-08-2002, 03:54 PM
Specs:
amd2200xp
asus a7s333 mobo / sis 745 Chipset
256 ddr 333 ram
100 gig HD

Well it just likes to lock up whenever it pleases and its
almosts different amounts of time of use.
It will lock at Idle, in games, and small programs.
If anyone can help Id much appreciate it.

Heres my temps and power :

300w

Asus Aprobe says:
CPU: 52c
MainB:42

Hardware sensor prog says:
CPU:42 C
MAINB:52 C

Those temps do seem high for a non-Oced proc.
Here's what mine did with an Alpha 8045 and a nice quiet 52CFM fan ...right about the same as yours...but running a bit faster and with more VCore ;)

http://www.cox-internet.com/kjy13/images/2013_200.jpg

Rangerbob
10-24-2002, 07:08 PM
These guy's seem to know thier AMD stuff. And if'n it is the heat (proc. or case). I would like to suggest an alternative that I had to learn the hard way.
If you take the case cover off altogether and add to the open side of your case, a large duct Air Filter(kind used for large heating and cooling units. It's extremely cheap ($1.50) for any of the sizes. And works excellent!! (CPU 170degrees->109degrees)
It is unlikely that you'll find one the same exact size as your case side opening, so you'll want to dig up some old and if possible large sissors to cut out what you need.
Masking tape is what is use to seal it tight to my case, but is tucked down and away from main view so who cares. However if you're looking for cool don't think this would be satisfactory. Got a good imagination? If you dicided on somthing like this it would be intresting to see what you came up with.
Anyways the rest of any openings below, back, top, and otherside could be taped shut or fitted with the same filter materal. Done both and got an extra drop of 3 degrees with the filter, but took the tape approach (easier to maintain,and no worries) Filters are located in your Fred Meyers,Wal Mart etc...
I took this approach,because no matter what case fan, CPU fan or heatsink I used, just never got a satifactory addressing for the heat build up.

Well for what it's worth...
Bob Brooks
Rangerbob@urx.com

Oldbugger
10-24-2002, 08:38 PM
I agree with RB above largely....simply try taking the side cover off the machine for a while and see if you get the case temp down (42 is a bit high) if it makes a difference.

Its not only CPU temp (your is a bit high but not extreme) that can cause a temp problem...the chipset could also be overheating as could the ram and the video card....all these will also give you random lockups....

If taking the side cover off fixes the problem the you should ventilate the case a bit better with at least one input fan at the fron and an extra exhaust fan at the rear.

Rangerbob
10-24-2002, 09:48 PM
Actually looks like you system is running too many program at one time. You can check this by hitting "control, alt and delete" just once though! The box that appears will tell you what you've got running now on your system. Some threads to your processor will not show here, but you'll get the general idea.
So if your running a **** load of programs, you'll want to go into your system configuration utility to start cleaning up.
Now every one has there own idea on what they want running on ther computers. However if you've going to clean house you'd probaly be better off by going for the gold, because you can always add then back later. And you get a better sense on what exactly is causing the most problems, as you add them back one by one.
Note* loading one page on the web with advertisment can max out and lock up your processor even with a programs cleaning. Java Script is to blame here it utilizes a great deal of your processor fuel. My advice is to turn it off for a little while until you can get a grip on what the program 'clean up' has given back to you performance wise. In fact learning to run your computer without the java script altogether is a very wise approch since the benefits far outways the occational small entertaining gif. (you'll never need to run virus software or
If you like, Lord willing, I may be able to take you step,by step on dealing and cleaning out your system configuation and a few tricks I picked up along the way. It is still possible you've got some hardware problem however,,,,to lick as well.
Anyways hope this helps
Bob Brooks
Rangerbob@urx.com

aggr3ssor
10-24-2002, 10:48 PM
:eek:

I cant beleive my thread is still goin!

Well I figured the prob was my temps so as long as I keep them down, she stays stable :)

Thanks to everyone who tried to help! :cheers:

Wiggo
10-24-2002, 11:00 PM
n/p's as we like to hang around and chat shop while awaitin' a verdict. We enjoyed ourselves anyway. :devil win

<center>:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:</center>