PDA

View Full Version : why rais voltages?



dadrago
10-08-2002, 02:45 PM
if clock speeds are determined by the fsb and the multiplyer, why do'es raising the voltage appear in all the over clocking guides? isnt the hight the voltages increase the need for heat dissapation?, i would assume it is for "stabillity", but what in raising the fsb/multiplyer would need more power?

and if i overclock my Vid card, do i need to rais the voltage on that too?, and what about my system memory?, wont raising the voltage make them MORE unstable even if you buy quality ram(i.e corsair)?
thanks to all who replay

Darthtanion
10-08-2002, 02:54 PM
I just covered most of these topics in the AMD Overclocking Guide that just posted a couple of days ago. Might wanna check it out. :)
http://www.tweaktown.com/document.php?dType=review&dId=376

dadrago
10-08-2002, 05:55 PM
your guid was great in explaining what every thing is, but back to the question at hand, what DOES raising the voltages do?

pga1234
10-08-2002, 06:01 PM
It does answer your question a couple times. If a signal becomes weak increasing the voltage can strengthen it. Also sometimes when you increase the RAM's voltages it increases system stability...

dadrago
10-08-2002, 06:09 PM
thanks

pga1234
10-09-2002, 12:51 PM
No problem, that's what we are here for :thumb:

thomson1968
10-15-2002, 08:37 AM
is there a guide for overclocking pentium 4s ?

Wiggo
10-15-2002, 09:50 AM
Basically there ain't a great deal of difference between AMD & Intel overclocking except the use of the multipier which can not be changed on Intel processors. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>