PDA

View Full Version : Ripsaw Z-series not showing up as quad channel



havasuphto
01-27-2013, 06:14 AM
I bought this memory;Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 32GB (8 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9Q2-32GBZL (http://newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231500)
Because in the description it said it was quad channel capable. I have an asrock OC formula Z77 motherboard, and an Intel i7 3770K cpu. In the bios I have xmp version 1.3 enabled, and it correctly identifies the speed of the ram(1866). however, when I check the ram in Cpuiz, it says "dual channel". I checked with some other software and it also identifies the ram as dual channel.
So, what am I missing here? why is my quad channel ram not showing up as that?

wismean95
01-27-2013, 09:43 AM
Because Z77 CPUs and Motherboards don't support quad channel RAM. That is one of the main selling points of the X79 CPUs. So unfortunately, while you have a 3770K, your RAM will run in dual channel

havasuphto
01-27-2013, 09:49 AM
Because Z77 CPUs and Motherboards don't support quad channel RAM. That is one of the main selling points of the X79 CPUs. So unfortunately, while you have a 3770K, your RAM will run in dual channel
Well I missed that little fact. I guess I return these then, since they were more expensive than dual channel. bummer.

wismean95
01-27-2013, 09:55 AM
Quad channel doesn't provide a noticeable difference anyway (the performance is beyond the point where it is needed or used) unless you run extreme editing programs so its a bit of a waste of money anyway.

havasuphto
01-27-2013, 10:02 AM
Quad channel doesn't provide a noticeable difference anyway (the performance is beyond the point where it is needed or used) unless you run extreme editing programs so its a bit of a waste of money anyway.
What do you define as an extreme editing program? I do edit HD video with Avid Studio and Avid Media Composer. But, i think there really just isn't that much difference/improvement. Just wished I noticed it said X79...that would have been my clue. the price difference was only about $15, and they are going to charge me a restocking fee higher than that-so I'll just keep them, and maybe OC them.

wismean95
01-27-2013, 10:06 AM
I meant running multiple instances of things like 4k videos or 21Mp photos and stuff in photoshop or premiere etc. That stuff chews RAM and thats where the memory clock counts

havasuphto
01-28-2013, 03:57 AM
Alright. I'm not into editing 4K video's, and don't really do much photo editing anymore. Just do 1080P/60/30/24. So I really don't think it's going to matter much.

G.Skill - Matt Wang
01-28-2013, 08:43 AM
Hi,

wismean95 is right, you won't feel much difference only if you running lots editing programs/multiple tasks, please note!